Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

  1. #1
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    I just bought a new Acer 5943G I7 laptop with a Firewire 4 pin port (you know the small port used for videograbbing too - so speed should not be an isue or ?)

    I can easily buy an adapter that will attach to the original firewire cable supplied with the Hasselblad H3D2 camera.

    But will it work out fine with tethered shooting with an adapter in between ?

    Or should i go for a new cable ?

    do any of you know !
    Last edited by BlueLemon; 12th January 2011 at 12:49. Reason: missing something

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    I just bought a new Acer 5943G I7 laptop with a Firewire 4 pin port (you know the small port used for videograbbing too - so speed should not be an isue or ?)

    I can easily buy an adapter that will attach to the original firewire cable supplied with the Hasselblad H3D2 camera.

    But will it work out fine with tethered shooting with an adapter in between ?

    Or should i go for a new cable ?

    do any of you know !
    It will work, I have one. However, it more depends on whether the Laptop will provide enough power.

    I bye-passed all that and bought a FW 800 to FW 400 cord. Speed of transfer wasn't noticeably impacted.

    Take care that the tether cord doesn't get too long ... beyond 15' or so you need a powered FW repeater.

    -Marc

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard, WA
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    4 pin FW does not provide power.

  4. #4
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    so will it work if I buy a dedicated FW800-FW400 cable (4pin) ???

    else i have usb2.0 ports, hdmi and nothing more

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,930
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    so will it work if I buy a dedicated FW800-FW400 cable (4pin) ???

    else i have usb2.0 ports, hdmi and nothing more
    You can't get power from the 4-pin FW400 connection. It was designed for devices that are self-powered (video cameras, etc) as it takes up less space than the standard 6-pin FW400 connector. What this means is that when you use it with a drive, the drive has to have another power source.

  6. #6
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Solutions ???

    are there any

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,930
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    Solutions ???

    are there any
    Find a way to power the drive independent of the FireWire port. If that's not possible, you'll need some other solution.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    313
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    It should work just fine, the H3D doesn't actually need power from the laptop.
    Nick-T

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,930
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick-T View Post
    It should work just fine, the H3D doesn't actually need power from the laptop.
    Nick-T
    The question to me isn't whether the H3D will work. It's whether connecting the drive to the laptop or to the camera will power the drive.

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Yes, what was I thinking ... well, I was thinking other devices with no power of their own ... LOL!

    The H back has its own power source.

    I use a FW800 to 400 with my laptop all the time. It works. So does the adapter.

    -Marc

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    The question to me isn't whether the H3D will work. It's whether connecting the drive to the laptop or to the camera will power the drive.
    What drive?

    The OP asked about tethering his FW 800 H camera to a laptop that doesn't have a FW800 port. He can either use the adapter or a FW800 to 400 cable. Either will work for tethered shooting ... the grip battery powers the camera and the back.

    -Marc

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    I just bought a new Acer 5943G I7 laptop with a Firewire 4 pin port (you know the small port used for videograbbing too - so speed should not be an isue or ?)

    I can easily buy an adapter that will attach to the original firewire cable supplied with the Hasselblad H3D2 camera.

    But will it work out fine with tethered shooting with an adapter in between ?

    Or should i go for a new cable ?

    do any of you know !
    I use a similar system...H3D to Dell. I went for a new cable 800 on camera side, and 400 (4 pin) on the computer side. Works fine.

  13. #13
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Beautiful - so a new 800/400 cable would seem to work.

    Well will spend a few bucks to test it !

  14. #14
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    got the cable today - initial i tried with old phocus : result : No Camera connected

    Installed Phocus 2.5.5 - still no camera connection ???

    What to do ? its a firewire 800/400 cable and the camera is H3D2-39 singleshot

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    got the cable today - initial i tried with old phocus : result : No Camera connected

    Installed Phocus 2.5.5 - still no camera connection ???

    What to do ? its a firewire 800/400 cable and the camera is H3D2-39 singleshot
    Does the FW400 port on the laptop work with other devices?

    Have you successfully tethered this camera to a different computer in past?

    How long is the new cord? In feet please.

    What firmware is in the camera? Not Phocus version ... firmware for the camera body and the digital magazine?

    -Marc

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    got the cable today - initial i tried with old phocus : result : No Camera connected

    Installed Phocus 2.5.5 - still no camera connection ???

    What to do ? its a firewire 800/400 cable and the camera is H3D2-39 singleshot
    Interesting. It works on mine with 5m Firewire 400/800. You might need to plug/unplug both sides, on/off the camera a few times. But once it locks, it is stable for whole shoot.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueLemon View Post
    got the cable today - initial i tried with old phocus : result : No Camera connected

    Installed Phocus 2.5.5 - still no camera connection ???

    What to do ? its a firewire 800/400 cable and the camera is H3D2-39 singleshot
    If you look in Device manager is the camera detected?

    You may need to install the windows driver for the camera.

  18. #18
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Quote Originally Posted by David Grover / Hasselblad View Post
    If you look in Device manager is the camera detected?

    You may need to install the windows driver for the camera.
    And you may need to reboot Windows when connected to see the back.

    Bob

  19. #19
    BlueLemon
    Guest

    Re: H3D2 => Firewire 4 pin port / tethered ?

    Arrhhhh Hasselblad H3D2

    As I was trying to figure this out with the firewire, the camera went "ERROR - Invalid Calibration" - i just had it in for repair to fix exactly that...... a dip switch was bend. Got it back after 4 weeks...

    And while working this new firewire cable today - the camera went over the edge again while off the FW cable.

    I called Goecker who handles all Hasselblad repairs before turning them over to Hasselblad themselfes - spoke with a technician and he spoke also directly with Hasselblad..... verdict :

    Camera has to go in for service again - they forgot to adjust the calibration memory the last time it was in for repair.

    Ive almost had it - one more problem with this camera...just a waste of my time.... Where is my 503cw

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •