Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    got it today... comes without instructions how to change...


  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Your Butler is supposed to do that stuff ...

    -Marc

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Florida/Montana
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Marc,

    Long time no talk as I seldom post, but this required one!!! I've enjoyed my S2 and have thought about this accessory so am awaiting some opinions. I followed your decision making thread with interest and some amusement. Glad you finally got a good copy! Enjoy.

    Jim

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Grid screens are nice in several areas . One is obviously lining up verticals in a shot but also for composition reasons as well. Which could actually be a good learning tool. This looks like a plain grid across the screen unless the brush is hiding a AF area
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    51
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Page 23 of the S2 Instructional Manual

    http://s.leica-camera.com/assets/dow...ructionsen.pdf


    Good luck.


    Sincerely,

    Chris Snipes
    Sales Manager, Florida
    Capture Integration
    http://www.captureintegration.com

    2010 Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    404.522.7662 Atlanta
    305.350.9900 Miami
    877.217.9870 National
    813.335.2473 Cell

    Sign up for our Email Newsletter
    Subscribe to our RSS Feed







    Quote Originally Posted by xpixel View Post
    got it today... comes without instructions how to change...


  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Stone View Post
    I've enjoyed my S2 and have thought about this accessory so am awaiting some opinions.
    Yes its really very usefull. Leica has announced them since weeks.. now its available..

    http://s.leica-camera.com/accessories-overview/

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    860
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    76

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    I'm interested in the split prism screen when it comes out

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Since we're talking about accessories ...

    I was just doing my last test of working methods with the S2 ... this time using portable strobes, and thought I'd share my set up ... not everyone shoots Landscapes or just available light

    This is one of my go-to solutions for location portrait work especially in dark interiors, at weddings and events, or functions. Also use it to light balance outdoors with brighter backgrounds.

    Basically directional main provided by an Elinchrom Quadra and various light modifiers ... and TTL or manual fill with the SF58 in the hot shoe. I use a Kirk Grip with a Arca type QR and mount the radio unit on the grip with a sync cord to the S2 sync port. Very sturdy set-up, and the Grip combined with the hand-strap makes it easy to hold steady when dragging the shutter in low ambient light.

    Testing complete, works like a charm.

    -Marc

  9. #9
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hollywood, FL
    Posts
    580
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    The grid screen still has the center circle with crosshairs.

    We have these in stock: Leica S-Camera Screen with Grid

    David
    David Farkas
    Leica Store Miami

  10. #10
    Subscriber Member KurtKamka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,232
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    26

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    Since we're talking about accessories ...

    I was just doing my last test of working methods with the S2 ... this time using portable strobes, and thought I'd share my set up ... not everyone shoots Landscapes or just available light

    This is one of my go-to solutions for location portrait work especially in dark interiors, at weddings and events, or functions. Also use it to light balance outdoors with brighter backgrounds.

    Basically directional main provided by an Elinchrom Quadra and various light modifiers ... and TTL or manual fill with the SF58 in the hot shoe. I use a Kirk Grip with a Arca type QR and mount the radio unit on the grip with a sync cord to the S2 sync port. Very sturdy set-up, and the Grip combined with the hand-strap makes it easy to hold steady when dragging the shutter in low ambient light.

    Testing complete, works like a charm.

    -Marc
    Marc,

    Very interesting set-up. Any idea of what the cost might be for all of the components combined. I'm trying to get my head around portable lighting solutions. Thanks much.

    Kurt

  11. #11
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hollywood, FL
    Posts
    580
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Quote Originally Posted by KurtKamka View Post
    Marc,

    Very interesting set-up. Any idea of what the cost might be for all of the components combined. I'm trying to get my head around portable lighting solutions. Thanks much.

    Kurt
    Kurt,

    Can't help you on the bracket, but I'd be happy to discuss the Elinchrom Quadra RX with you.

    David
    David Farkas
    Leica Store Miami

  12. #12
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    The Kirk grip is available from B&H. You will need a Hot shoe clamp for the handle to mount the radio sender. I use an Stroboframe one I had laying around.

    The Elinchrom Skyport sender comes with the sync cord needed from Skyport to S2 sync port.

    The 400 w/s two head Elinchrom Quadra was chosen because it is so small and compact for a battery strobe system. It is so small, I'll probably get a second unit.

    Another choice would be the 600 w/s Profoto B600 AIR components for a lot more money than the two head Quadra kit ... The B600 only has one head outlet which doesn't work for me at weddings and such. But the light modifier mount for the Profoto system is much better if you want a more diverse over-all lighting system. All my studio lighting is Profoto.

    IMO, the ultimate battery kit for power and portability is the Lithium battery driven 2 head Hensel Porty 1200. That is enough w/s to overpower back lit bright sun in most cases.

    -Marc

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    IMO, the ultimate battery kit for power and portability is the Lithium battery driven 2 head Hensel Porty 1200.
    And what about the Profoto BatPac?:

    http://www.profoto.com/external-power-supply/batpac

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Screen with grid

    Quote Originally Posted by xpixel View Post
    And what about the Profoto BatPac?:

    http://www.profoto.com/external-power-supply/batpac
    The BatPac is a lead based battery inverter to power existing Profoto mono-heads or Acute generator packs on location. The Hensel is a self-contained Lithium battery powered generator with its own outlets for two EH Pro-Mini heads.

    The BatPac is a less expensive and versatile solution if you already have Profoto lights and a strong back ... it's a lead based battery and big/heavy ... plus you have the added bulk of the Mono-lights or a generator box. Easy if you have assistants, not so easy when working alone or quickly even with an assistant.

    I selected the Elinchrom Quadra because of its size/weight ratio to power needed. Part of the size equation are the tiny heads ... which are smaller than an average speed-light. This allows me to mount the heads on the light stands and place them in my Light Caddy ready to go ...

    http://www.thelightcaddy.com

    ... which is basically a redesigned wheeled golf caddy bag that I can put the stands/heads/umbrellas/accessories for easy transport and swift set-up and tear-down. It's all assembled with this quick, easy use and mobility in mind, mostly for weddings and location portraits off-grid.

    Often when working highly mobile I use a very simple set-up ... the camera with the Kirk Grip/Radio sender, a TTL speed-light in the hot shoe for fill, and an assistant with the Quadra over his shoulder and a lightstick with a beauty dish or shoot-through translucent umbrella for directional light.

    The two portraits shown below were done with that set-up and the umbrella ... the candid shot was done with the beauty dish in a stick, and shows an example of how the speed-light doesn't blow out the foreground subjects when using a more powerful directional light off axis.

    Can't wait to use the S2 this way !!!! I have a location portrait session on the 19th, and it'll be my first chance to use it on the job with strobes.

    -Marc

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •