Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Piscataway, NJ, USA
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    I'm starting this new thread, copied from my post in the ForSale thread, since I can use your help and if my question was left in the For Sale threads, few may see it.

    Ok -magic words anyone?
    Anyone have the magic wand to wave and know the magic words to use the h5 back?

    I have yet to see it light up, or be recognized by 2 different PCs.
    I received the back,
    attached it to a hassy500,
    plugged the short lead wire from the lens flash pc to the "C" port on the side of the H5,
    purchased a new firewire (not in the package with the back)
    registered with PhaseOne web and downloaded 3 different trial versions of the captureOne software. (no software in the package with the back)
    installed into 2 different laptops (both belong to friends of mine, my desktop has no firewire port)
    still dark and unrecognized by the PC.

    what NEXT? (how did you test this? Traut)

    signed -puzzled -Steve.
    Film vs. Digital? -ha- just use everything.
    Leica M3, M7, Epson R-D1s, Bessa R, Fed3, Revere stereo, Nikonos IVa, Canon FTbn, EOS1, EOS10s, EOS10D, EOS300D, P&S A590IS, Hasselblad500cm, Kiev 88, Seagull TLR, Burke&James 4x5

  2. #2
    Senior Member MaxKi▀ler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    I am sorry but my last magic wand ran out of pixie dust... So here comes cruel reality: Your H5 appears to have some kind of hardware issue, it's defect. It might be the Firewire port (just guessing). This could have happened during shipping, I don't know. I have never owned one but had similiar issues with a Leaf Valeo 11. As far as I know, Capture One immedeately recognizes any connected digital back so one can only suggest that it's dead...

    If you don't want to abondon hope that easily, try moving the connected FW cable at the backs FW port to see if it's just a loose contact.

    Finally, like many others here would suggest: Go to your local dealer and let him/her take a look at your back.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    A H5 is to me one of the most robust backs i have ever used. Mine fell on the concrete floor twice, luckely without damaging the sensor/IR filter but the casing was totally crashed. It kept on working and working....
    But you need power to use the H5, iow a Mac laptop, preferrable an old one with lots of power on the FW port. Most PC don't have enough power or sometimes no power on the FW port.

  4. #4
    Senior Member yaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    38

    Re: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    Might be a dumb comment but the Firewire port on your PC should be one that has 6 pins and that produces power.

    If not, then you can use a powered hub

    Yair
    Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One | Mamiya Leaf
    e: [email protected] | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | yaya's blog

  5. #5
    Senior Member MaxKi▀ler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    Ahh, you guys are right! I admit I just haven't thought about that...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Piscataway, NJ, USA
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PhaseOne H5 back - needs magic spell?

    Thanks to all --
    I ended up - - installing a new PCI 1394 firewire card/port -- into the desktop pc.

    it has power - and i re-set a number of options on the control panel for the new port.

    now it is recognized and the version of "Capture One" accepts the images from the firewire as i trigger the camera/back.

    it was tough few weeks (not much time able to be devoted to it) but hey its only a hobby.

    thanks all --
    i'll be back, i'm sure.
    Film vs. Digital? -ha- just use everything.
    Leica M3, M7, Epson R-D1s, Bessa R, Fed3, Revere stereo, Nikonos IVa, Canon FTbn, EOS1, EOS10s, EOS10D, EOS300D, P&S A590IS, Hasselblad500cm, Kiev 88, Seagull TLR, Burke&James 4x5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •