Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Phocus Mobile

  1. #1
    Member Jay Emm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Phocus Mobile

    Now @ iTunes

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Excellent!

    Apple are a bit early.

    I hope you all enjoy using it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southport Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Very easy to get it connected but I have a problem with remote AF not working on my I Pod touch. Also zoom works ok but would like a dedicated 50 or 100% button if possible. Will be a useful tool I think

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southport Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    anyone else tried it yet ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Hi Martin,

    Remote AF is not a function of Phocus Mobile as there would be no way of directing the AF points to a particular spot. Unless you had a motorised Tripod mount!

    So far you can adjust remotely..

    -Shutter
    -Aperture
    -ISO
    -WB
    -Mirror
    -Expose

    David

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southport Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Thanks David. Its just that I have a wireless remote that I plug in that does the focus so it must be possible. Hope it can be in next release. Anyway the viewer is great. Just need a quick zoom. Regards Martin

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Warks, UK
    Posts
    550
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Great news, David... I hope to get it set up tomorrow.

    Quote Originally Posted by David Grover / Hasselblad View Post
    Hi Martin,

    Remote AF is not a function of Phocus Mobile as there would be no way of directing the AF points to a particular spot. Unless you had a motorised Tripod mount!

    David
    I do have a motorized tripod mount... and I had contemplated using remote AF drive for DOF merge, standing or holding a target where I want the plane of sharpest focus to be for each shot, e.g. in a church.

    I would be away from the camera with hand-held flashes for "painting with flash light", and it would be convienient not to have to walk back to the camera or computer for each shot.

    For most applications you can operate AF from the computer... but what if you are in the photograph... line of chalk on the floor?

    Perhaps you could include remote Auto-focus in a future version?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Jay,

    Many thanks for the heads up - downloaded and now off to play!

    Henry

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinE View Post
    Thanks David. Its just that I have a wireless remote that I plug in that does the focus so it must be possible. Hope it can be in next release. Anyway the viewer is great. Just need a quick zoom. Regards Martin
    Technically it is possible, but we have to consider if it is useful for anyone (except Dick that is)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    30
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    I for one would love to see the addition of a remote auto focus!

    MartinE, what remote do you have that allows auto focus for the Hasselblad?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    525
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    Is it possible to check focus through the iphone screen (like in a swc for example) ether by live view or in a test shot?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southport Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    I use a remote from YongNuo bought off ebay. Phottix also make one which may be better quality. The one I have works 100% with no problems. I had it a long time first used it with a H2D now with H3D. Half press light goes green and triggers AF then press more to fire. Phocus Mobile would be a simpler option with the AF. Maybe next release !

  13. #13
    ash73
    Guest

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    It would be great if Phocus mobile could just activate the same focusing functions as the Phocus desktop application. For example, the Adjust Focus button.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southport Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phocus Mobile

    I had an email from tech support to say the AF will be implemented in a future release

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •