The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

500 f8 Tele Tessar on S2

GMB

I am looking for something longer than the 180mm that Leica has to offer for the S2. A dealer showed me a 500/8 Tele Tessar for Hasselbald V mount. Assuming the S2 to Hasselbald adapter would work, do you think that lens makes sense on the S2? I am a total newbie to MF, and know close to nothing about the MS lenses? Also, what do you think would be a fair price for the lens?

Thanks.

fotophil

Years ago I tried the standard (non-APO) version of the 500mm lens and found poor performance on chrome films but O:K on black & white. I switched to the APO version of the 500mm lens with improved performance. If your dealer's lens is the APO version, it is worth a try on the S2.

atanabe

The early non APO versions of this lens (500) would not be my choice for a long lens in film or digital, it had a lot of CA. There are several options such as the Zeiss 250 SA or Zeiss 350 SA that are stellar performers. The 250 is hard to find and the 350 even harder. Mark Gowin borrowed my Zeiss 350 non SA for his S2 and the results were very good, not stellar, like the Leica 180 but at 1/5th the cost, okay. You can also wait and see if Leica will come out with a tele convertor or even a long lens of their own.

Here is a link to a web site with the old data sheets from Hasselblad on all of their lenses:

http://www.hasselbladhistorical.eu/HW/HWLds.aspx

Al

Bernard