The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

H4D 31 dust on sensor

D

drmytan

Found dusts on my image even after the CCD sensor was blowed and cleaned up and no change of lens. Called the local supplier and told it's common issue as dust might get in through the minor leaks. And advised me to open the digital back and blow each day! I somehow can't accept the explanation. I am new to the MF camera. This has annoyed me so much. Thanks for help

Dustbak

Yes, this is normal. No problem whatsoever. It is easy to take off the back. Take off the viewfinder, below that in the center push the black button forward (towards the lens mount) and push the button on the side (left) in and rotate slightly backward. Now the back can be taken off.

Blow off the sensor and if necessary wipe it with something like a pec-pad and eclipse fluid.

Amazing this hasn't been explained or shown to you by your dealer. This is nothing to be annoyed about, normal thing and actually it is much easier to clean your MF equipment than a 35mm DSLR.

I use my MF stuff daily but find it unnecessary to clean it everyday. I do so the moment I see spots. Regularly but certainly not daily.

johnnygoesdigital

Found dusts on my image even after the CCD sensor was blowed and cleaned up and no change of lens. Called the local supplier and told it's common issue as dust might get in through the minor leaks. And advised me to open the digital back and blow each day! I somehow can't accept the explanation. I am new to the MF camera. This has annoyed me so much. Thanks for help