The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

How to Handle Overexposure

tsjanik

I’m fairly new to digital. I recently purchased a 645D and have discovered that a sensor’s response to over exposure is quite different from that for film. I‘ve attached an image taken with the 645D. Film would have likely yielded an acceptable image of the overexposed sun, but the digital image is very unappealing with an irregular pattern of pure white. I tried opening the file in ACR twice and pasting different exposure settings - somewhat helpful, but there’s nothing to be recovered in some areas. How should I handle a situation like this in the future? This was handheld and a tripod would not have been very practical, so multiple exposures would have been difficult. Thanks for any advice.

Tom

N.B.: I did post this at Luminous Landscape as well, so I apologize for the repitition.

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
If you are working from a tripod it's a fairly easy thing to make multiple exposures and blend them together. So at a minimum, one exposure for the sun/sky and another for the foreground. Then either mask them into one image in photoshop or use the blend command. Or you might consider HDR to combine multiple exposures of scenes where the DR is beyond your sensor's ability to capture it in one exposure.

Tim

Oren Grad