The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

HELP! Medium format macro problem....

haring

Well! I am kind of new to medium format photography.
I try to create a few cool macro product photos with my mamiya 645 but the photos are not really great. Some of them are blurry, colorless, etc....

I have a mamiya 645 system. I use a mamiya 120mm 4.0 macro lens with a extension tube NA402 (24mm).

When I use my canon 35mm camera with my 100mm macro lens, the photos are excellent! What do I miss??? What Do I do wrong???

HELP! :)

2jbourret

It'd be most helpful if you'd post an image from each camera, but the first issue you have to grapple with in going from 35mm format digital to MFD is the greatly reduced dof. Add to that the even more limited dof of the 120mm macro, and an extension tube, and your plane of focus, even at f22, may be no more than a mm or so.
Additional lighting, and focus stacking may be the solution if the object that you are shooting is at all three-dimensional and you want to stick with the MFD setup for the shot.

shlomi

Are you using flashes and a tripod?
Can you show an example?
What f/stop are you using? What back, iso and speed?

I would recommend not using rings if at all possible, as they detract from image quality noticeably.
Also the 120 D lens is much better than the 120 non D.

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
You remember we're right down the street right? Since you bought a body from us and no digital back I'm assuming you're shooting film.

Likely