Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: CF card size

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    CF card size

    Hi all,

    I bought a CF card to use for my H4D, it is Kingston 32GB elite Pro card, but when i inserted the card the camera gave me an error message and i couldn't format the card at all, someone told me to format it by computer, it is a bull**** idea, and i tried to format it with a Canon/Nikon DSLR and it did work fine, then this person [just a friend not a photographer] told me that this card is fake or defective maybe, i don't take this point as well, i am not that kind of guy who judge randomly without test or facts to understand the whole situations.

    So is that my H4D isn't compatible with large size cards such as 32GB or larger? I have largest card of 12GB before getting 32GB, that 12GB working flawlessly with my H system, so what is the maximum size i can use with my H4 system? Does a card brand has any affect on that or all brands working fine on same size card?


    -Tareq
    Tareq

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    Formatting it in a computer is not a "bull**** idea." In fact, it's the only way to fully format a card -- particularly one that may have errors and possibly bad sectors.

    If you use Windows, you'll need to format with the following process -- open a command prompt and type following: "format /FS:FAT32 X:” X, naturally, is the drive letter for the CF card you intend to format. It will warn you that proceeding will erase all data, etc. Hit "y," and press enter to continue. Shouldn't take more than 15-ish minutes.

    If you use a Mac, it's actually much easier. Go into Disk Utility, under the "partitions" tab. Ensure the following options are checked:

    Volume scheme : 1 Partition
    Format: MS DOS (FAT)
    Option: Master Boot Record

    Formatting it in another camera may not work well for you; I know with Leaf backs, the card must be cleanly formatted only with a computer, then never used with any other cameras. They're delicate like that; your H4D might have a similar issue.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: CF card size

    Quote Originally Posted by coulombic View Post
    Formatting it in a computer is not a "bull**** idea." In fact, it's the only way to fully format a card -- particularly one that may have errors and possibly bad sectors.

    If you use Windows, you'll need to format with the following process -- open a command prompt and type following: "format /FS:FAT32 X: X, naturally, is the drive letter for the CF card you intend to format. It will warn you that proceeding will erase all data, etc. Hit "y," and press enter to continue. Shouldn't take more than 15-ish minutes.

    If you use a Mac, it's actually much easier. Go into Disk Utility, under the "partitions" tab. Ensure the following options are checked:

    Volume scheme : 1 Partition
    Format: MS DOS (FAT)
    Option: Master Boot Record

    Formatting it in another camera may not work well for you; I know with Leaf backs, the card must be cleanly formatted only with a computer, then never used with any other cameras. They're delicate like that; your H4D might have a similar issue.
    OK, i will give that a try and see.
    Tareq

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: CF card size

    I tried the steps or the tips you posted, didn't work as well.

    The error message:

    "Error Media 9008"
    Restart Camera

    I restarted the camera many times and no success
    Tareq

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    Quote Originally Posted by Professional View Post
    I tried the steps or the tips you posted, didn't work as well.

    The error message:

    "Error Media 9008"
    Restart Camera

    I restarted the camera many times and no success
    Are you using a Mac, or a PC? Did your computer detect your CF card? If so, did it accurately state its size? If you weren't able to open the CF card in your computer, it's likely irrevocably corrupt.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: CF card size

    Put the card in a USB card reader (out of the camera) and reformat as suggested by coulombic.

    Cheers, -Peter

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    Where did you buy the card Professional?

    What is it's read write speed in MB/s?

    Your H4D supports upto 128gb cards.

    David

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: CF card size

    Quote Originally Posted by coulombic View Post
    Formatting it in a computer is not a "bull**** idea." In fact, it's the only way to fully format a card -- particularly one that may have errors and possibly bad sectors.

    If you use Windows, you'll need to format with the following process -- open a command prompt and type following: "format /FS:FAT32 X: X, naturally, is the drive letter for the CF card you intend to format. It will warn you that proceeding will erase all data, etc. Hit "y," and press enter to continue. Shouldn't take more than 15-ish minutes.

    If you use a Mac, it's actually much easier. Go into Disk Utility, under the "partitions" tab. Ensure the following options are checked:

    Volume scheme : 1 Partition
    Format: MS DOS (FAT)
    Option: Master Boot Record

    Formatting it in another camera may not work well for you; I know with Leaf backs, the card must be cleanly formatted only with a computer, then never used with any other cameras. They're delicate like that; your H4D might have a similar issue.
    Why on earth should you need to use a command prompt in windows to format a card? Just right click on it in My Computer and select format. Not sure I agree with you as the adviseability of formatting with the computer vs camera either. That it shouldn't be necessary is a given, what if you're in the field and realise you'd forgotten to wipe a card?
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    The card should be formatted in camera on the H4D

    I looked up the spec if this card and it is way underpowered at only 20mb/s.

    It will be very slow to write the data and download.

    Look to replacing it with a Sandisk Extreme Pro.

    David

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    159
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Rubinstein View Post
    Why on earth should you need to use a command prompt in windows to format a card? Just right click on it in My Computer and select format. Not sure I agree with you as the adviseability of formatting with the computer vs camera either. That it shouldn't be necessary is a given, what if you're in the field and realise you'd forgotten to wipe a card?
    This is only for the initial setup of a CF card. Leaf users generally have to go through this procedure. Naturally, after having correctly formatted the card, you can reformat the card to infinitum with the camera back itself. This process also forces the file system of fat32 and performs a more comprehensive format than "quick format," or the what the digital back can do.

    Also, using the right-click functionality is not always successful with larger-capacity CF cards in Windows. For the sake of being pedantic, I prefer to do things as correctly and rigorously as possible as to eliminate the unknown.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: CF card size

    Ok, to answer some questions here:

    I use Mac computer, and i followed the instructions as "coulombic" said, and i use not USB but Firewire card reader and it was detected quickly by my Mac and the size is shown correctly and so, and formatted or reformatted many times as MS-DOS or whatever and and, nothing changed.
    I bought the card from B&H, the read speed is 25mb/sec and the write is 20mb/sec, the rates is 133x speed, so if that is so slow or not enough then is it a problem of the camera or the card? So what is the minimum read/write speed of the card i need for that camera?
    I will buy ScanDisk next time, but now what i have to do with this card? i can't send it back overseas and it will charge me more than the card itself to replace it with shipping, so i think i should keep it for something else [DSLR camera for normal shoot or just for transferring files by CF card reader].
    Tareq

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CF card size

    Basically Tareq, the faster the better. It means you can maintain continuous shooting for longer. 20MB/s is really really old technology for a CF card.

    The fast Sandisks are really not so expensive these days for moderate capacities.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...pactFlash.html

  13. #13
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: CF card size

    I use 16gb Sandisk Extreme cards. Not too expensive and the speed is very good , never any writing issues with my back. The Extreme Pros seem very nice but for shooting speeds not sure they would help any as the backs may not write that fast anyway. Downloading yes as they will be quicker in that area but you may hit a limit even so with USB 2 or Firewire 800. Never tested that so not sure.

    In this area it is all about reliability more than speed. Last thing you need is losing data. For Hassy like Phase and others there maybe certain cards it likes better than others. I would think you want at least 60mb/s to work with.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: CF card size

    OK OK, i just bought that card and thought it may work, but as long it didn't work for my Hasselblad then i have to buy another card, and i know it is not expensive, i have that 12GB CF of Sandisk Extreme IV more expensive that time than 16-32GB nowadays, i will get Sandisk cards then.
    Tareq

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •