The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

The perfect portrait lens?

T

tomz

Hi guys

So I'm having a lot of problem with choosing a new portrait lens. I already have the LS80mm f/2.8 but feel it's not tight enough.

I've been looking at two lenses, the 120mm macro and the 150mm, actually four lenses because of the AF vs. MF in the 120mm and the leaf vs. no leaf in the 150mm :)

So guys, what would you do, which one of these would you choose...or, even some other?
My background is studio work, I shoot almost everything in my studio but sometimes on location. I use the Leaf shutter a alot but also large f-stops. I shoot with the Phase One 645DF and P30+ back.

Thanks in advance :)

Regards from Iceland
Tom

Last edited:

topgreat

I am using the same setup as yours. You won't be disappointed with 150mm D. If you don't mind about leaf shutter, it is very sharp. You can't use the 110mm LS on Phase One 645AF anyway.

T

tomz

I am using the same setup as yours. You won't be disappointed with 150mm D. If you don't mind about leaf shutter, it is very sharp. You can't use the 110mm LS on Phase One 645AF anyway.
Sorry I was clearly not awake :) I have the DF version, 645DF.

dick

On Hasselblad, the 50-110 zoom is useful, but a bit wide for some shots at 110 on a 53mm sensor.

120 macro was a good lens for 56mm^2

Perhaps we should have platform specific sub-forums?

coulombic