The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Help me spend my money

Plateau Light

Ha! I always wanted to say that!

Anyhow, please help this 5x7 film guy migrate toward digital MF.
I do have a 35mm 5DII so I am not totally green to digital, just to
the obscure MF market that seems to have many elusive systems.

I have been lurking in the shadows for quite some time and have seen a gamut of results that quite frankly intimidates the hell out of me whenI am about to spend 35-40K.

I have been shooting LF for 17 yrs now and have grown accustomed to having my tilt and occasional shift. I dont really know if I would be totally happy with an slr as my only tool so I am leaning toward a system approach with an SLR and a movement capable setup.

I have the need for large 40 x 50 enlargements that rival my 5x7 drum scans.

Even though I don't shoot medium format I have collected several tidbits over the years that seemed like a good thing at the time.

I have a 28mm digitar, a 40mm Hasselblad CFI IF, 47mm and a 50mm CFi FLE that I would like to be able to use. I had always thought I would buy a Flexbody as it seemed like a miniature view camera with the same back movements that I have been so used to .

Would I not be happy with the Hassy glass on a P65+.

Aside from the 3 above lens's I am a blank slate so please suggest how you might allocate $40K.

Last edited:

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Some random thoughts in no particular order:

1) You can use the older Hassy V lenses on a Phase DF body with adapter. They are of course fully manual aperture and shutter is provided by the camera -- all a-la LF.