Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Rollei Bokeh

Post Thanks / Like

Rollei Bokeh

Well, kids, I just tried my first studio shoot with the Hy6. Holy crap studio is different!

Total sidetrack: First of all, let me say 'hats off' to the regular studio shooters around here--the studio is hard work! As a nature photographer, I'm not used to being crowded by cables, power packs, 7-foot umbrellas and more heat than you can shake a stick at all in a cramped space! It was nice to not have a backpack on, though!

The Hy6/e75LV started off with some hiccups, but I was able to get past most of them to start shooting.

One of the major reasons I left Hasselblad for Rollei is because of the lens bokeh. Rollei's bokeh is really smooth, while I found the Hasselblad rendering to be "lacking" to say the least (for those not aware, I posted a couple of samples illustrating Zeiss/Hassy V bokeh: http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/...dpost&p=129779. Hassy H with Fuji glass is definitely different, but still has some pretty serious bokeh issues to my eye.)

A couple of dear friends and I got together to do a few formal portraits and to fool around and "try out this studio thing".

So how did the Rollei do?

Smooth disc bokeh, round, gentle and certainly not distracting. Frankly, these optics are amazing--they're everything I hoped for (and more, if you consider how heavy they are! ). These shots were done with the Schneider Xenotar 80/2 at 2.8-5.6 and the Zeiss Planar 110/2 at f8-11. (The shot below is with the 80/2 @ 2.8). I had the 180, but I didn't end up using it, as I spent more time relatively close to my subjects.

More shots from our little experiment can be found at http://GibsonPhotographic.com/K&M%20Studio.

P.S. We did have a lot of fun... I think we'll have to do the studio some more!
    Last edited by BradleyGibson; 22nd July 2008 at 07:14.

Theo

Re: Rollei Bokeh

Congratulations with your Hy6 and welcome to the 'club' :-)