Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Leica S2 - Color profile

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Leica S2 - Color profile

    In the owners section of Leica S2 you can now download a brandnew ICC profile for the S2.

    from the PDF description:

    The LEICA S2 raw data format complies with the specifications in the ADOBE DNG 1.3.0.0 standard (June 2009). This enables DNG-compatible raw data converters to be used in your photo workflow. As a result, products such as Capture One 6 from Phase One can be used. To improve the color characteristics of the Leica S2 data, we now offer an ICC color profile, which has been specially developed for the LEICA S2.


    Works perfect in Capture One 6...:-)))

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,588
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    How does it compare to what you're getting from LR3?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    860
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    76

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Although I no longer use Capture One, it is good to know Leica is making this profile available for those that want to use raw converters other than LightRoom. In fact, it should work for LightRoom as well, so I wonder if it is any better that the existing profile in LR3. I will have to check it out this evening.
    Last edited by Mark Gowin; 31st May 2011 at 08:28. Reason: Correct iPad typos

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Mark, it does not appear that this profile will work with LR3 or ACR...

    Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

    We are delighted to announce that a S2 color profile for ICC based workflow software will be available for download from now on.

    The LEICA S2 raw data format complies with the specifications in the ADOBE DNG 1.1.0.0 standard (June 2009). This enables DNG-compatible raw data converters to be used for processing LEICA S2 DNGs.

    As a result, products such as Capture One 6 from Phase One can be used.

    To improve the color characteristics of the Leica S2 data, we now offer an ICC color profile, which has been specially developed for the LEICA S2.

    Please note that Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Camera Raw do not support this profile.

    A special "Adobe Standard" LEICA S2 DNG color profile is integrated into the software and is used automatically.

    For registered S customers, the color profile and installation instructions are available for download in the owners area: https://owners.leica-camera.com/index.php/de/login

    -Leica Internet Team

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Chatted with Leica today this will be available to the public in a few days and also I will be running a new S2 review with the new CS lenses coming soon. Stay tuned for all that to come.

    This is good news as some folks like me are not thrilled with LR at all. This does open up some doors.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    860
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    76

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Thanks for clearing that up David. I had not received that info from Leica. I did download the profile a few minutes ago, but haven't had a chance to try it. You saved me from some aggravation trying to make it work with LR3.

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    You've got to love how Adobe talks out of one side of their mouth concerning adhering to "standards" and doesn't support the use of arbitrary ICC profiles for image processing.

    It's one of the best parts of Capture One. Very glad to see Leica provide a true manufacturer provided ICC profile! Very smart move!

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Agree Doug. Honestly this held me back when making decisions on what I wanted. This is a very smart move .
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Well, this gave me a reason to upgrade to C1 Pro 6, which is on special @ 30% off for a few more days.

    Loaded a few S2 shots and it initially looks pretty good ... now I have to get better at C1 workflow.

    Now that C1 sees the S2 files, does that mean we can use C1 tether functions?

    -Marc

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Right at your door. I'll be there

    http://www.captureintegration.com/20...roit-training/
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Heck, that's next Monday! How's that for timing?

    Are you going to be here in Detroit Guy?

    Let me see if I can clear my calendar to at least attend the morning basics section.

    Will I be shunned if I show up with a Leica S2?

    -Marc

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    I will be there and no you will not be shunned at all. CI does sell Leica. LOL
    Love to see you and I will have a IQ 180 in hand to look at. I'm out promoting GetDPI forum and workshops.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    Well, this gave me a reason to upgrade to C1 Pro 6, which is on special @ 30% off for a few more days.

    Loaded a few S2 shots and it initially looks pretty good ... now I have to get better at C1 workflow.

    Now that C1 sees the S2 files, does that mean we can use C1 tether functions?

    -Marc
    Marc

    Did you find a way to set the S2 ICC profile as the default? I just started playing with it and have to reset it for every image. Pain in the a$$

    Thanks in advance for responding

    Woody

  14. #14
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Woody you can copy from one image and select all and apply to all images. One workaround if needed
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by woodyspedden View Post
    Marc

    Did you find a way to set the S2 ICC profile as the default? I just started playing with it and have to reset it for every image. Pain in the a$$

    Thanks in advance for responding

    Woody

    On a Mac you can copy the S2 ICC (.icm file) profile to Frameworks - AppCore.framework - Versions - A - Resources - Profiles - Input and rename it to GenericDngFile-Neutral.icm then all S2 files will be S2 default with the new profile.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by xpixel View Post
    On a Mac you can copy the S2 ICC (.icm file) profile to Frameworks - AppCore.framework - Versions - A - Resources - Profiles - Input and rename it to GenericDngFile-Neutral.icm then all S2 files will be S2 default with the new profile.
    Thanks Guy and Xpixel

    Very helpful

    Woody

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by xpixel View Post
    On a Mac you can copy the S2 ICC (.icm file) profile to Frameworks - AppCore.framework - Versions - A - Resources - Profiles - Input and rename it to GenericDngFile-Neutral.icm then all S2 files will be S2 default with the new profile.
    I wanted to use this but in the folder "Frameworks" there was no folder appcore.frameworks. Am I doing something wrong?

    Woody

  18. #18
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by woodyspedden View Post
    I wanted to use this but in the folder "Frameworks" there was no folder appcore.frameworks. Am I doing something wrong?

    Woody
    Go to Applications...Rt click on Capture One - Show contents....start the Framework string there....


    Bob

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by docmoore View Post
    Go to Applications...Rt click on Capture One - Show contents....start the Framework string there....


    Bob
    Thanks Bob

    I found it as you described. Too many "frameworks" in the machine to get the right one easily.

    so I did end up with the correct file, named correctly, in the correct folder. However now when I open a folder of S2 images the profile is blank. I have to go select the one I want. So I am still lacking something I need to do.

    If you have the answer, please let me know

    Best regards

    Woody

  20. #20
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Woody,

    I am at a loss for that one...when I open C1 the renamed DNG Generic is up for all of my S2 shots...if I click on the profile I am given the choice of selecting the old one or an unrenamed S2 profile.

    Perhaps reinstalling C1 will make a difference...I had to install the S2 profiles a couple of times in Library Colorsync before they were seen.

    I renamed the original DNG Generic as DNG File Neutral2...making the S2 as DNG File Neutral.

    Hope someone else has an easy solution...mine seems to work at the present time...I did install the newest 6.2.1 update.

    Bob

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Leica S2 - Color profile

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Woody you can copy from one image and select all and apply to all images. One workaround if needed
    Basically, this is the way Lightroom works ... correct one profile and apply it to all as a sync batch ... or am I missing something?

    I suppose changing the default to the S2 profile would be okay if you only use C1 Pro for S2 files, otherwise I'd just apply it as above.

    Jury is still out as to whether this profile offers enough advantages over Lightroom by applying user defined camera specific adjustments. The vast level of tools in lightroom, direct access to photoshop and third party programs like Nik Define 2 and Silver Efex Pro without leaving Lightroom, make it difficult to move elsewhere for processing except in very critical cases.

    What we do not know is whether this new profile is any better than the embedded camera calibration provided in Lightroom. I understand that the new profile opens up the S2 to those who prefer Ci and are proficient at using it, but I seriously doubt it is the same as using C1 to process Phase One files (or Phocus for Hasselblad files).

    IMHO Leica also needs to have Adobe juice up the S2 camera calibration options in Lightroom. If I recall correctly there is one embedded one for the S2 and fourteen options for Canon. To be perfectly honest, the red bias in the skin tones needs to be addressed ... if there is anything that is a PITA when processing S2 files, it is that.

    -Marc

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •