The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Mount adaptors with helicoid for RB/RZ lenses

Ed Hurst

See the link below (though my German is virtually non-existent, so i can't make much of it):
http://www.photoscala.de/Artikel/HCam-Adapter-Mamiya-RB-RZ-Objektive-an-Mamiya-Phase-One-645

Apparently this is an adaptor that allows the mounting of RB and RZ lenses on 645 bodies. The adaptor shown is for the Mamiya/Phase 645 mount, but apparently they exist for Pentax 645 and Contax 645 too.

Focusing is achieved by the adaptor including a helicoid (or should that be an helicoid? Hmmmm.....).

Anyhow, my question is this - I have no experience of the RB/RZ optics. How do they compare with Pentax 645/67 and Zeiss lenses for digital use? I have a Pentax 645D and would be most interested in the use of this if the lenses are first rate (when used with digital), especially given the lack of new lenses for the camera. My style of shooting would make slow, manual usage no problem. The question is really aimed at understanding what would deliver the best possible result with the body.

All advice gratefully received. Oh, and if anyone with good German can extract other nuggets from that page, please do share!

Best wishes,

Ed

Last edited:

Stefan Steib

Hi Ed

we do have a complete pressrelease here:
http://www.pressebox.de/pressemeldungen/stefan-steib-hartbleide/boxid/430179
there are a lot more pictures and
the text is available as a PDF in english too, I will post it here for you:

Mamiya RB/RZ lenses to 645 Adapter