Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: raplace analogue with digital?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    raplace analogue with digital?

    hey guys,

    i'm thinking about droping analogue and switch to digital entirely...
    i use a h3dII-50 for fashion/studio work but did always prefer film for documentary/portrait (on location, available light).

    so far, so good... i'm happy with my h3dII-50 at ISO 50 & 100.
    iso 200 looks okay, 400 is horrible though.

    the recent documentary series were done with a mamiya 7II on the new portra (400-800 asa) which was okay.

    question:

    is there any digital back (is has to be a 50 or 60) digital back which performs better in high iso ranges than my current 50? how about the 60 and will there be something better (regarding high iso performance) in future? i'm just curious if it's worth getting rid of my analogue stuff and using digital instead.

    as i decided to go for my h3dII-50 i had an early p65+ for comparison... it looked quite noisy/grainy, perhaps it was due to the early firmware?!?


    cheers!

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,502
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: raplace analogue with digital?

    Well, if you can stand about a 10% loss in resolution, a 40MP Pentax 645D makes very good files up to 1600 ISO. I used to shoot with a Mamiya 6 with ISO 400 speed film for documentary work. The 645D replaced that and I am more than happy.

    Perhaps someone can chime in on the S2, but there again less than 50/60MP.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: raplace analogue with digital?

    shashin,

    yeah... i heared about the 40MP backs. the 40MP hasselblad seems to perform quite good as well. pentax it out since i do have a bunch of hc lenses so it has to be a hasselblad, i think.

    regarding resolution: well, i'm planing to crop to 6x7 format so i'm gonna lose another 10% thats why i'd prefer 50-60 MP

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,502
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: raplace analogue with digital?

    Well, Phase and Leaf says their backs can get up to ISO 800, but I am unsure of the quality. Whatever you find, I think you will be pleased as a replacement for your Mamiya 7--baring the loss of the rangefinder and all that goes with that. I wish my Pentax was the size of the Mamiya 6.

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: raplace analogue with digital?

    Just request a demo of the H4D;40 and 60 cameras from Hasselblad.

    Shoot both at 400 and 800, and size/crop to your usual specifications.

    I had the H4D/40 and now have the H4D/60 .... but I can't impose my level of tolerance for noise on yours, especially if 200 looks horrible to you. You'll just have to try them to see.

    The sensors in the 39, 40 and 50 backs are made by Kodak, and Dalsa makes the sensor for the H4D/60. In some ways the "noise/grain" looks different between the Kodak and Dalsa .... which is another thing to compare.

    How large are you printing? Just curious, what software are you using? Have you tried a dedicated noise software like Define 2?

    -Marc

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: raplace analogue with digital?

    marc,

    well, i said that iso 400 looks hoorible
    getting the 40MP would be a real step back, not only because of the file size but as well because i'd lose the 'MF-look' more and more. the larger the film/sensor is, the more beautiful the DOF is (at least in my opinion) thats why i'd rather want to stay with the 50MP or even go to the 60MP back.

    i do not print that large... just have a 9800 epson which is enough.
    using phocus and im quite satisfied how it handels/reduces the color noise but i'm afraid that theres no software that will make up the loss of detail at higher iso ranges.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •