Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

  1. #1
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    COPENHAGEN, June 29, 2011 — Phase One, the world’s leader in open-platform based professional medium format camera systems and solutions, today announced the availability of Camera Control -- a new Capture Pilot(TM) option that lets photographers operate their cameras remotely via their iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch. This remote camera control frees photographers to shoot under scenarios that previously would have been difficult or impossible.

    Camera Control is the newest feature of Capture Pilot which allows photographers to use their iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch to wirelessly view, zoom and pan high resolution DSLR and medium format RAW, JPEG and TIFF images while they are shooting. The application’s rating and tagging features enable clients and colleagues in the studio or on remote locations to participate in the shoot and provide instant feedback.

    Camera Control
    Camera Control offers photographers an elegant, virtual camera display on their iOS device to remotely fire the camera and control the camera’s most important capture parameters, including ISO sensitivity, exposure mode, shutter speed, aperture, exposure compensation and others.

    Camera control supports a wide range of pro and semi-pro Canon and Nikon DSLRs, and Phase One, Leaf and Mamiya medium format camera systems.

    Availability and Pricing
    Camera Control is available now as an in app purchase for USD14.99 / EURO11.99. Capture Pilot™ is a free app available from the Apple store that works with Capture One Pro. More information is available here: http://www.phaseone.com/en/software/capture-pilot

    Capture Pilot with Camera Control requires version 6.2.1 or later of Capture One Pro, the raw conversion and image editing software that supports a wide range of pro and semi-pro camera models. Capture One comprises a full digital workflow to produce beautifully detailed and richly rendered images. For information about Capture One Pro, please see: http://www.phaseone.com/en/Software/Capture-One-Pro-6/

    About Phase One
    Phase One is the world’s leader in open-platform based medium format camera systems and solutions. Phase One medium format cameras, digital backs and lenses are designed to deliver superior quality image capture and investment value. Phase One’s Capture One software helps streamline capture and post-production processes for both medium format and digital cameras. Phase One products are known for their quality, flexibility and speed enabling pro photographers shooting in a wide range of formats to achieve their creative visions without compromise. For more information, please visit Phase One at http://www.phaseone.com. Follow Phase One on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/PhaseOneWW

    Phase One is an employee-owned company based in Copenhagen with offices in New York, London, Tokyo, Cologne and Shanghai.

    Phase One and Capture One are registered trademarks of Phase One A/S. All other brand or product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #2
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    It is great to see the ever so useful Capture Pilot Application evolve.

    Some of the new features included in this upgrade came directly from end-user feedback.

    Thanks for listening Phase.

    Lance
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    sounds cool
    do you need a computer in the link?
    what is the physical connection between camera/back and I-device?

  4. #4
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    Yes you would still need to have the camera connected to the computer for Capture One to control.

    The Ipad to Computer host communicates via WIFI.

    Lance
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    29
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    All,
    It works perfect, connected my Leaf to the Computer, started a session, opened the App ... et voila. Not try with the IPhone, but with the Ipad this is perfect. Now you can shoot a full session from your bed on a nice hotel bedroom with air con while everybody is melting on the beach :-)
    Cheers, Jean-Luc

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Napa
    Posts
    362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    173

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    Tried it today, very cool!!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    I am sitting here trying to make it work on my iphone 4. Server running, turn off Bluetooth, connected to IQ180 on DF camera.

    When it does connect, it only allows me to trigger and change iso. No aperture or speed control. I have seen that the Phase demos are all on DSLR. Is that because the DF can't do these things?

    Might still be ok, even without the aperture and speed but it keeps loosing the connection and then it sits forever looking for the server. In particular, it loses connection when the iphone blanks. Then, I have no idea how to get it back. I suppose it's time to talk to my dealer. Sigh. This could have been useful.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Graham Mitchell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London/Kiev
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    Seems that it requires iOS4 to run. I have a 2G iPhone which can't run iOS4.

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase One’s Capture Pilot App Now Offers Camera Control

    Quote Originally Posted by cunim View Post
    I am sitting here trying to make it work on my iphone 4. Server running, turn off Bluetooth, connected to IQ180 on DF camera.

    When it does connect, it only allows me to trigger and change iso. No aperture or speed control. I have seen that the Phase demos are all on DSLR. Is that because the DF can't do these things?

    Might still be ok, even without the aperture and speed but it keeps loosing the connection and then it sits forever looking for the server. In particular, it loses connection when the iphone blanks. Then, I have no idea how to get it back. I suppose it's time to talk to my dealer. Sigh. This could have been useful.

    Hmm, I am currently trying it for the first time with a model arriving in an hour, and I get the same as you - from which I can only surmise that the shutter and aperture controls don't work with the DF body...

    ANyone have a view (I am guessing that this may only be possible with a body FW update or something equally inconvenient!)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •