Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 32 of 32

Thread: Capture One and Lion 10.7

  1. #1
    Senior Member Stefan Steib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lindenberg im Allgäu
    Posts
    1,294
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Just ran into this:
    http://aperture.maccreate.com/2011/0...list-included/

    as it is stated -Capture One 6 shall run much faster on OSX 10.7 than on 10.6.x
    can somebody who already switched confirm this ? Would be the only reason for me right now to switch (right now everything works perfectly with 10.6.8).

    TIA
    Stefan

  2. #2
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Difficult to say. I haven't really noticed anything, although now that you mentioned it, the images do seem to resolve their sharpness faster. The adjustment brush is still very slow, although it also seems to be a little better.

    I know there are some issues being discussed over on Phase's forum, not sure what they are but may want to check it out before upgrading. I went for a few days on one computer with no issues, so took the plunge. Hard to get used to the new way of scrolling when you have to go back and forth (which I like now that I'm used to it).
    wayne
    My gallery

  3. #3
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I upgraded with 6.2.2 & Lion 10.7. So far it seems to run fine with image editing although I have run into a problem with using a Lexar USB 3 reader that crashes / hangs Capture One. Basically if I have the reader & card attached when I launch C1 Pro, attempting an import will hang C1 Pro. If I start C1 Pro and then insert the card, it'll load up the images fine. Kind of a strange one.

    I tried resetting all settings, cleaning everything out as per Phase One's instructions and re-installing but I can reproduce the problem at will on my i7 MBP.

    I agree with Wayne about the Lion scrolling - pretty strange at first but now seems natural.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  4. #4
    Senior Member Stefan Steib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lindenberg im Allgäu
    Posts
    1,294
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Thanks Wayne for the hint to the Phase Forum- there I found this thread:

    http://forum.phaseone.com/En/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=10970

    about the crashing CF Import and the following message from Phase Staff member Drew:

    "We're looking into it. As Lion isn't even a week old it will likely be awhile before we would recommend the update. There are bound to be some bugs and from this thread it seems the import feature may be one of them. Hang tight and put off upgrading if you could, at least until the dust settles. We'll have a look at this issue and if it is a bug we'll try to adjust for Apples changes as soon as possible."

    so I think I will wait.......... not a nuisance BTW feeling completely comfortable at current status.

    Greetings from Munich
    Stefan

  5. #5
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    As mentioned earlier, if you start C1 Pro WITHOUT a card in the reader and then insert the card and import then it seems to work ok. I guess the copy files to a folder on the disk approach will work also - I naturally assumed that maybe it was an issue with my new fast card reader but it would appear to be a general issue.

    Phase One: guys, that's a pretty dumb error that surely EVERY customer will run into. I'm surprised that one slipped through.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard, WA
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I have issues with 6.2.1/6.2.2 and importing off of a CF card. 6.1.1 is just fine. It sucks having to install one version to import and then run the other if I want to play with Media Pro. And this is on 10.5.8.

  7. #7
    Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Napa
    Posts
    362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    173

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    It works but I have noticed little difference other than my LaCie Monitor which I am now selling (They have NO customer support) and some of my Photo Shop plug-ins. Of course Image Print doesn't work, but they have an update in August. This always irks me because Apple is aggressive at sharing their code in development. The software companies that have not addressed updated operating systems are rapidly becoming suspect in my book.

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Maybe one time I am just waiting this out. Just finished a big gig in NY and going on vacation so I will just let the dust settle. Also looking for a REAL reason to jump when my system is humming along just fine right now. I'm over the cool factor with Lion . If it makes my system more stable and effective than it's a no brainer but I have not seen statements like 20 percent increase in processing or comments like that yet so sorry folks not playing beta boy on this one. BTW my IQ 160 was a screamer in NY
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member Stefan Steib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lindenberg im Allgäu
    Posts
    1,294
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I also found out that Canon´s Eos utility will not work anymore, which I use for some reasons also, so until this changes it´s a no go for me too.
    Maybe I put it on an external disk to try it out.

    Greetings from Munich
    Stefan

  10. #10
    Member mesposito's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    ......I'm over the cool factor with Lion . If it makes my system more stable and effective than it's a no brainer but I have not seen statements like 20 percent increase in processing or comments like that yet so sorry folks not playing beta boy on this one. BTW my IQ 160 was a screamer in NY
    That's a good move. We aren't the right kinds of users to be release testing unless it's on a test machine. Personally I used SuperDuper to duplicate my boot drive onto a separate partition. I'm installing Lion there to see what works and what doesn't first.

    Have a great vacation!

  11. #11
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Just installed Lion c1 is crashing on import. Not making me totally happy . Luckily i am in between gigs
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #12
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Thought I'd mention that while C1 on Lion doesn't seem much faster on my main computer (12 core MacPro) it definitely seems faster on my MacBook Pro (recent 4core).
    Last edited by Wayne Fox; 30th July 2011 at 13:08.
    wayne
    My gallery

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I havent tried importing anything yet, but my version of Capture One Pro 5 is working just fine on Lion! No crashes yet, fingers crossed!

  14. #14
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    You are all nuts. Don't install new versions of the OS for at least a month or two after it's release. There are ALWAYS bugs. Every. Single. Time.

    Just wait a month or two. Your life will be easier. Your hair will retain more of it's natural color. Members of the opposite sex will suddenly find you more attractive.

  15. #15
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Damn I'm in real trouble than. Good advice Doug but we are gear techno sluts that always want something new. I at least waited for a big project to be done but was really itching to instal it. I did and you guessed it C1 does not import from your CF cards. So where is the update bud. LOL

    No patience and lead guinea pig.

    The good news is we have you to save our proverbially butts.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member etrump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    You are all nuts. Don't install new versions of the OS for at least a month or two after it's release. There are ALWAYS bugs. Every. Single. Time.

    Just wait a month or two. Your life will be easier. Your hair will retain more of it's natural color. Members of the opposite sex will suddenly find you more attractive.
    Apparently it's not working for me Doug. Not the OS but the opposite sex thing. Any other suggestions?

  17. #17
    Member Analog6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Terranora Northern NSW Australia
    Posts
    151
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    I upgraded with 6.2.2 & Lion 10.7. So far it seems to run fine with image editing although I have run into a problem with using a Lexar USB 3 reader that crashes / hangs Capture One. Basically if I have the reader & card attached when I launch C1 Pro, attempting an import will hang C1 Pro. If I start C1 Pro and then insert the card, it'll load up the images fine. Kind of a strange one.

    I tried resetting all settings, cleaning everything out as per Phase One's instructions and re-installing but I can reproduce the problem at will on my i7 MBP.

    I agree with Wayne about the Lion scrolling - pretty strange at first but now seems natural.
    That's interesting - I only have C1-5 but it does that exact thing running under OS10.5.8 - I thought it must just be 'cos I only have 4Gb (maximum) RAm on my iMac.
    Odille

    H2 | P20 | HC 50-110 | HC 150 f3.2 | HC 210 f4 ~ My Website

  18. #18
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    You are all nuts. Don't install new versions of the OS for at least a month or two after it's release. There are ALWAYS bugs. Every. Single. Time.

    Just wait a month or two. Your life will be easier. Your hair will retain more of it's natural color. Members of the opposite sex will suddenly find you more attractive.
    I support hundreds of customers with various printers and cameras. Standard procedure is clone the main drive, install new software, if I can't work out the issues, start up from the previous system. If I have software that won't run on the new system, again start up for the old. These are rarely mainstream programs, more like utilities which are often fixed quickly or never fixed at all so time to find a replacement. I assume somewhere at your place you are also testing Lion thoroughly ... have you discovered anything very serious at all?

    Personally I've found Lion be less of an issue than either Leopard or Snow Leopard, printing issues have only popped up for a few who didn't clean out their printing systems and having remnants of ancient drivers on their computer. Very few customer calls with printing issues this time around.

    Almost all "bugs" have easy workarounds, such as the C1 bug. I don't use C1 to import, LR works fine for that. LR has a minor issue with the scroll bar on occasion, but I've been working in C1, LR, and PS since day one without any real problems.

    Running Lion 100% now, both laptop (which has been running better on the road than Snow Leopard was) and my main computer at home.

    If everyone "waited" the bugs wouldn't get discovered till the next update ...

    Heck, if I have to wait I'd miss out on all the fun
    wayne
    My gallery

  19. #19
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    You are all nuts. Don't install new versions of the OS for at least a month or two after it's release. There are ALWAYS bugs. Every. Single. Time.

    Just wait a month or two. Your life will be easier. Your hair will retain more of it's natural color. Members of the opposite sex will suddenly find you more attractive.
    I can appreciate that Doug, but it's nuts like me who figure out what is wrong and what needs to be fixed. That's why I have graduate degrees in IT for.

    I am going to be building my own NAS when I get the parts. Want to watch?
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    For the record Apple isn't immune either. I upgraded and Aperture 3.13 refused to import files into my existing library. The workaround was to create a new library and everything was fine.

    I picked up a Magic Trackpad for my Mac Pro which makes the jump to Lion absolutely worth the effort. Now if only Google will make Chrome gesture aware and Mozilla the same for Firefox.

    Sadly, a LaCie USB 3.0 card was a casualty of the upgrade as my box refused to boot up with anything plugged in to the card. I am starting to suspect that this is a memory related issue (Lion appears to be a lot more fussy about memory - I had 12 GB of RAM in a mix of 1GB & 2GB pairs, so I pulled all of the 1GB pairs and things seem more stable now at 8GB).

    I will have to contact LaCie to see if there is a firmware update to the card or some other solution.
    Last edited by etrigan63; 5th August 2011 at 19:57. Reason: typo
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  21. #21
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by etrigan63 View Post

    I picked up a Magic Trackpad for my Mac Pro which makes the jump to Lion absolutely worth the effort. Now if only Google will make Chrome gesture aware and Mozilla the same for Firefox.
    but I agree about the gesture support in Chrome. You become very used to that in the latest Safari release as it works so well. I have some great extensions for Chrome that I use a lot and so im torn between Safari & Chrome at the moment because of this. I'm sure it'll happen soon enough.

    Btw, did anyone hear anything new from Phase One about the CF card load problem with Safari & Capture One 6.x?
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  22. #22
    Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Napa
    Posts
    362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    173

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Good luck with LaCie. I have never seen a company with worse customer service. I have one of their monitors and it took over four months for them to upgrade so it would work with Snow Leopard. I installed Lion, same problem. I just sold the monitor cheap, and it is the last LaCie product I will ever buy. And i will tell everyone I can...

  23. #23
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Not to derail the thread, but I hear you. I just read that the LaCie USB 3.0 card only recognizes LaCie drives. Useless. Thunderbolt will only become available on the next Mac Pro refresh, but I am not holding out hope for a Thunderbolt add on card for older Mac Pros. Sonnet makes a USB 3.0 card. I will have to ping them about Lion support.

    Oh, and it turns out that one of my 2GB RAM sticks is flaky and so I have pulled them and put back the 1 GB sticks. So far. so good/ I will be calling OWC on Monday to have them checked. It turns out that neither the Apple Store Genius Bar nor CompUSA's Tech Center have a memory tester in their toolboxes anymore.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  24. #24
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by Vincent Goetz View Post
    The software companies that have not addressed updated operating systems are rapidly becoming suspect in my book.
    As they should be. Any serious software shop will have their product ready on OS launch day, at least for beta (post-QA). For those of us who do software professionally anything else is rather amateurish.

  25. #25
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by etrigan63 View Post
    It turns out that neither the Apple Store Genius Bar nor CompUSA's Tech Center have a memory tester in their toolboxes anymore.
    When my wife dropped off her 2010 13" MBP a few weeks ago to have the trackpad fixed the guy at the Genius Bar ran a memory test, so they definitely still have this for some models.

  26. #26
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    The Genius Bar runs software memory tests on the Mac itself. They don't have a device to physically test the memory sticks outside of the Mac. This decision was made due to the large number of MacBooks in circulation that are much harder to open than a Mac Pro tower.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  27. #27
    Senior Member faneuil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    570
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I crash on import from card and import from desktop folder.
    Any workaround? Fix?
    A few times I could import then went back to crashing.

    Sucks.. because I get much better results from phase back when processed in C1 than LR.

    Eric



    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Damn I'm in real trouble than. Good advice Doug but we are gear techno sluts that always want something new. I at least waited for a big project to be done but was really itching to instal it. I did and you guessed it C1 does not import from your CF cards. So where is the update bud. LOL

    No patience and lead guinea pig.

    The good news is we have you to save our proverbially butts.

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    I think you can still import directly from the card with the finder (i.e. do not use C1 to import). Just move the files directly to your destination, and then open with C1.

    Cheers, -Peter

  29. #29
    Senior Member faneuil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    570
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    thanks! will try tonight.
    Eric

  30. #30
    Senior Member faneuil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    570
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    BTW- and OT, I've been shooting with an S+ mode capable back for a few weeks now.
    I adore it. I haven't shot with my Canon since and I think it is going to start collecting dust.

    Eric

  31. #31
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterL View Post
    I think you can still import directly from the card with the finder (i.e. do not use C1 to import). Just move the files directly to your destination, and then open with C1.
    +1

  32. #32
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One and Lion 10.7

    Quote Originally Posted by faneuil View Post
    BTW- and OT, I've been shooting with an S+ mode capable back for a few weeks now.
    I adore it. I haven't shot with my Canon since and I think it is going to start collecting dust.
    Perhaps you'd like to share an image or two with the class?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •