Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Since I upgraded to firmware 1.33 the image displayed on the LCD screen stays in landscape orientation for all images until I do a cold boot. That fixes things until I do a normal power down and power on. To be clear an image taken in the portrait mode is displayed rotated 90 degrees to the right while the back is in Portrait orientation. I have my back set to AUTO for image orientation. Never had this problem before the upgrade. Is anyone else seeing this anomaly?

    Victor

  2. #2
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Victor,

    IQ 160 back, new FW, set at auto: photo taken in portrait appears correctly, when back is rotated, image rotates as well, i.e., appears upright as it should.

    Steve

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Do a [Menu > Restore Defaults] and that should take care of it.

    I've added a note about this to our Phase One IQ Firmware Update blog entry.


    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________

    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter | RSS Feed
    Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

    Masters Series Workshop:
    New England Landscape - Fall Color (Oct 5-8)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    Do a [Menu > Restore Defaults] and that should take care of it.

    I've added a note about this to our Phase One IQ Firmware Update blog entry.


    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________

    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter | RSS Feed
    Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

    Masters Series Workshop:
    New England Landscape - Fall Color (Oct 5-8)
    No that does not resolve my issue. Images taken in portrait mode are displayed 90 degrees clockwise while the back is in portrait orientation. This occurs AFTER taping the screen to access magnification levels.

  5. #5
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Ah. After tapping the screen, mine does the same thing. Though the proper orientation returns if I go to Home and then Play.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Doug,

    This is definitely an issue with my back and the new firmware. I reverted to 1.19 and there are no problems. This occurs when the back remains stationary in portrait mode - can be placed on a table. A portrait image is displayed in landscape orientation. I can rotate the back and the image will finally rotate out of landscape orientation but if it remains stationary in portrait position all images are displayed in landscape orientation - AFTER taping the screen to access magnification.

    Victor

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by stephengilbert View Post
    Ah. After tapping the screen, mine does the same thing. Though the proper orientation returns if I go to Home and then Play.
    Its always good to know I'm not alone!! I cannot get back to normal without a cold boot. I've started a case with Phase. I'm sure they'll sort this out.

    Victor

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    sorry guys in the middle of a whole bunch of computer stuff, so have not got a chance to see what my box is doing.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Guy,

    This issue doesn't seem to be wide spread but does occur. All IQ users should check to see if they are affected. Regardless this is obviously a software issue that affects some backs and should be easily remedied by a FW fix.

    Victor

  10. #10
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Just checked mine and seems to be working normally.
    wayne
    My gallery

  11. #11
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Just checked mine and confirmed it's working normally as well.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  12. #12
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Well, while shooting today I had issues described. So I thought my back was fine, now it seems to be flakey at times with this issue.

    Also noticed all of my files are "created" on some weird date in 1969 after importing them (using LR to import them and copy them to the computer not c1). Time is correct on the back, and capture time is correct in the metadata. Not sure if it's a problem with the back, a LR issue with the files from the back, or if maybe there's a weird thing going on with OS X 10.7
    wayne
    My gallery

  13. #13
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Interesting. It seems like an intermittent issue then, so I'll keep my eyes on it as I shoot this week and report back.

    PS: I'm in Ireland right now on vacation, so weather permitting, I hope to have some images to share later this week! Will be processing the IQ180 files on my newest travel computer, a 13" MacBook Air, so should have additional equipment reports forthcoming as well.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Fox View Post
    Well, while shooting today I had issues described. So I thought my back was fine, now it seems to be flakey at times with this issue.

    Also noticed all of my files are "created" on some weird date in 1969 after importing them (using LR to import them and copy them to the computer not c1). Time is correct on the back, and capture time is correct in the metadata. Not sure if it's a problem with the back, a LR issue with the files from the back, or if maybe there's a weird thing going on with OS X 10.7
    Wayne,

    Please start a case with Phase. The more they hear of this issue the faster it will get resolved.

    Victor

  15. #15
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Agree keep making these reports folks. I'm on vacation also but in awesome weather town San Diego. I'm escaping the heat of Arizona. Folks need me use email if you would. I will be doing a full report on the 160 and sensor plus. In a word awesome results.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    252
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Will be processing the IQ180 files on my newest travel computer, a 13" MacBook Air, so should have additional equipment reports forthcoming as well.
    Hurry up, Jack

    Chris

  17. #17
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    I had the same or at least a related issue happen today. In my case, with the camera in portrait orientation if I make a capture it renders correctly. However, if I zoom in on a portrait image to 100% it sometimes -- not always -- rotates 90 degrees, then when I zoom back to full frame, it remains rotated 90 degrees. If I go out and then back via play, then it renders properly. Also interesting is, when I go out to home then back via play, it remains in proper orientation even when I zoom in and out of 100% -- weird and obviously a small glitch that needs to be addressed. Mine do import into C1 in their correct orientation as well.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  18. #18
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    That sounds like what my back was doing. When I reloaded the FW, the problem stopped, and when I told Phase that the problem had stopped, they closed the case I'd opened about the problem.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I had the same or at least a related issue happen today. In my case, with the camera in portrait orientation if I make a capture it renders correctly. However, if I zoom in on a portrait image to 100% it sometimes -- not always -- rotates 90 degrees, then when I zoom back to full frame, it remains rotated 90 degrees. If I go out and then back via play, then it renders properly. Also interesting is, when I go out to home then back via play, it remains in proper orientation even when I zoom in and out of 100% -- weird and obviously a small glitch that needs to be addressed. Mine do import into C1 in their correct orientation as well.
    Jack,

    If I keep my back in portrait position the thumbnail will appear on the LCD correctly. If I tap the screen for magnification the image rotates to landscape orientation. It does this 100% of the time. This issue is strictly limited to the LCD display..... images imported into ACR or C1 are all in the correct position. Please let phase know of your issue. My case with them is ongoing.

    Victor

  20. #20
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Victor, yes I had that same behavior yesterday, but not the day before. So at least in my case it appears to be intermittent. Moreover, it returns to normal correct behavior if I go out to the main menu and then back to play, and then does NOT rotate with the 100% tap...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  21. #21
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    The fact that it's intermittent might make it harder for Phase to locate and fix the problem, but they still need to fix it.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Victor, yes I had that same behavior yesterday, but not the day before. So at least in my case it appears to be intermittent. Moreover, it returns to normal correct behavior if I go out to the main menu and then back to play, and then does NOT rotate with the 100% tap...
    Phase One support has told me that Denmark is aware of this issue and that it will be addressed in the next firmware update. This should be in the very near future. Time will tell.......

    Victor

  23. #23
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,354
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    I held off from updating my IQ180 firmware when Victor reporting having these issues. Not a big deal to me anyway since I'm using the Phase DF and not a tech camera---which means the LCD and focus mask tools carry the day for me. Regardless, nice to know Phase is working on it, and I'll wait to update my firmware until then.

    ken

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Eads, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    I held off from updating my IQ180 firmware when Victor reporting having these issues. Not a big deal to me anyway since I'm using the Phase DF and not a tech camera---which means the LCD and focus mask tools carry the day for me. Regardless, nice to know Phase is working on it, and I'll wait to update my firmware until then.

    ken
    Ken,

    I would still upgrade...... you can always revert back to 1.19 - a very easy process which takes about 15 seconds. Even using the DF (which I don't use very often) you will find that live view can greatly improve focus accuracy. Of course, this is for stationary objects which may or may not apply in your situation. I was surprised at how far off some of my targets were with the DF. Auto Focus got me close and live view nailed it. You just gotta have lots, and lots of batteries.

    Victor

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    252
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Will be processing the IQ180 files on my newest travel computer, a 13" MacBook Air, so should have additional equipment reports forthcoming as well.
    Jack, this is OT and the wrong place in the forum as it's computer hardware but could you give a very short summary of your experience with the MPA when using C1? Could it replace a MBP17?

    Thank you!

    Chris

  26. #26
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: IQ Firmware 1.33 and Image Orientation

    Quote Originally Posted by cly View Post
    Jack, this is OT and the wrong place in the forum as it's computer hardware but could you give a very short summary of your experience with the MPA when using C1? Could it replace a MBP17?

    Thank you!

    Chris
    Nah, it's fine to discuss it here too. It actually works pretty well. I only process out one at a time and then things keep running pretty smoothly. The biggest downside to the Air is no FW port, so you cannot tether -- at least until we see an operable Thunderbolt to FW800 adapter
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •