Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: H4D: lens error

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like

    H4D: lens error

    I get some "Lens error" messages sometimes. I think the camera stops after approx 150-200 captures. I turn the camera off, remove battery, attach the battery back to the camera, power the camera, and continue to shoot.

    1. I purchased the new camera and lens about a month ago from a dealer.
    2. I have the latest firmwares installed in the camera and the 40mpx back.
    3. I shoot in studio. I use True Focus button to capture a still model, then release the shutter. The lens is - a very sharp 100mm f2.2, I like it.

    Is this a firmware bag or something else?

    PS: I will call the dealer, but I will be glad to know what others say, too.

    Regards
    Evgeny

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: H4D: lens error

    I don't know what it is, but I had it last week many times. The normal suggestion is to clean the contacts. It didn't stop it for me but it us worth a try.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lyon, France
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    49

    Re: H4D: lens error

    I shoot with a H4D50 for landscape, I change very often the lenses (mainly 28, 50 and 120).

    I had a few times this problem, but maybe not more than 4 or 5 times. Is your lens well locked ? I know it sounds stupid but I noticed a few time that as the button to lock - unlock the lens is on the side of the camera, it happens that when you put it in a bag or on a table, the button is touched and the lens a bit unlock (so you have a "lens error").

    Once, the lens even felt from the camera

    Just my two cents

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: H4D: lens error

    Certainly not what I was doing, at one point I was getting it every one or two shots. I would take it off, and replace it all on the tripod.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H4D: lens error

    Quote Originally Posted by jerome View Post
    Is your lens well locked ? I know it sounds stupid but I noticed a few time that as the button to lock - unlock the lens is on the side of the camera, it happens that when you put it in a bag or on a table, the button is touched and the lens a bit unlock (so you have a "lens error").
    Jerome, that's important. I need to check, if the lens is well locked, before I start to shoot.
    Jeff, the contacts are clean in this new camera/lens.
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H4D: lens error

    Hi,

    we had the same issue with one lens/camera combination. The lens worked flawlessly with three other bodies we tried so we initially suspected a body failure. In the end it turned out to be the shutter unit of the lens that was changed through Hasselblad without any charge. That was on a lens that was bought "new old stock", been in use for about a year and we did not expect it to be under warranty. I donŽt know where you are located, we found those Hasselblad guys here very helpful, so IŽd suggest to send your body/lens combination for check up. Your camera should work without any trouble, especially with that low number of actuations.
    I donŽt know why so many people advise cleaning contacts, that NEVER helped a single issue for us (keep your equipment clean with cap etc and avoid touching the contacts, my 2ct)
    Hope youŽre still under warranty, good luck!

    Cheers, Ulf

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H4D: lens error

    Ulf, thanks for sharing your experience. I will ask the dealer to check/replace the lens.

  8. #8
    Senior Member johnnygoesdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,579
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H4D: lens error

    Our H4d/31 also had that message. I found that the way I was holding the camera actually pressed ever so lightly on the release button, not so much to release the lens itself, but perhaps enough to to warrant the message. I adjusted the way I held the camera and no more message. I don't think the contacts should be cleaned unless absolutely necessary, and being a new camera it should be clean already. Oddly enough, I kinda miss that camera, its files were beautiful and manageable- the 31MP's loved the resolving power of those fantastic shutter lenses.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: H4D: lens error

    The camera is truly superb.
    It provides everything I previously had in Contax 645, including all useful controls, good ergonomics, and more. The True Focus is fantastic, almost 100% of images are sharp.

    The only things that worry me at this time is the "lens error" and lost connections when tethered to my Mac.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: H4D: lens error

    I didn't get that message at all with my Hasselblad, but i have to watch this message once it will occur.
    Tareq

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •