Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Moving up from 5DM2 to P1-65+

Post Thanks / Like

Moving up from 5DM2 to P1-65+

Hi, i'm a fashion photographer working world wide.
    I own the top-notch canon's gear (1DS3+5DM2) and the best prime lenses.
    recently (for few months now) i started to feel very uncomfortable with the output files, the proportion of a model's body and the overall width of a portrait shot (spaces on the shoulders of a frame)

I put myself into a demo from P1 here at Israel, we did some test-shots over a fashion production i've had at the same day.

I've had some thoughts about some physical assumptions i've made about the MF systems and why models looks better over MF sensor, proportion, length end the space that the body "prints" himself over the MF RATIO.

Conclusion - the physics can't lie - the body of a model is more "accurate" to the human eye through a 6x4.5 ration (4:3 ?), more esthetic and long (portrait situation, standing on the studio's floor, full-body shot)
    the face more alike the real-life view, same as body, limbs etc.

I think that for a long time i've had dis-satisfaction that can't override by the top equipment, and the answer for me is to move up to a MF system.

I would really appreciate if you guys can give me some advice about 3 top bullets:

1. what is the big difference between AFDIII and DF body (P1 or Mamiya)
    2. what is the big difference from 1.3 crop MF sensor and full frame?
    3. Dynamic range - which back gives the most out of a DR 12.5 stops ?

Thank you
    Best Regards,
    Shay Kedem
    Photographer.
    Last edited by SHAY KEDEM; 30th August 2011 at 10:39.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Moving up from 5DM2 to P1-65+

Forgive me for asking, but why have you cut out Hasselblad from the equation?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by symbolphoto View Post
    Forgive me for asking, but why have you cut out Hasselblad from the equation?