The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

"old Mamiya AF 2.8 / 80mm compared to 2.8 / 80 mm D

volkerhopf

Hi,
I want to buy an AF 80mm 2.8 lens for my Mamiya 645 AFD / ZD. Has anybody had a chance to compare the 2 AF versions? Is the "D" version $600.00 better? Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers
Volker

yaya

Hi,
I want to buy an AF 80mm 2.8 lens for my Mamiya 645 AFD / ZD. Has anybody had a chance to compare the 2 AF versions? Is the "D" version $600.00 better? Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers
Volker
I've been using the non-D one for 6 years without any issues and with great results, with digital backs from 6MP to 33MP. I now have a D and other than feeling a bit chunkier and having the AF "clutch" on the barrel, there is no apparent difference in the performance between these two lenses.

The D has a new chip in it which presumably will be used in the future for software-based enhancements

Hope this helps

Yair

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
They are very, very close. If anything, I would say the new lens shows a tad less fall-off at f2.8 and perhaps a bit more contrast, but we are talking small differences. The new lens uses 67mm filters which I found annoying since the old version used 58's and most of the other primes use either 58's or 77's; only the zooms were 67... So factor in another filter or ring adaptor... On the upside, I really like new build quality (huge improvement) and the AF clutch is really nice to have on the lens for quick switches to manual focus...

To answer your question, if buying both new, I would say the new version is worth the $600 additional...