Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    The latest update for Adobe Lightroom and Camera RAW now supports the Hasselblad H4D/60 ... and HC/HCD lens correction profiles are now included ... I think all of them are there.

    I also noted that the camera profile includes "Camera Standard" and "Matrix" ... I don't know what matrix is ... anyone know? It does have an effect on the image ... but I haven't figured it out yet.

    When I get a chance, I will be testing Phocus against Lightroom.

    - Marc

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    240
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    oo...great Marc...looking forward to your comparison between Phocus and Lightroom.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    yes I'm a bit confused by the "Matrix" thing myself.
    from the few minutes I spent pushing a couple of files around, I have to say it looked pretty good.
    But I'll have some time on the weekend to sit down and really compare the same file in phocus and LR.
    But this is a very good thing
    am

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Good question!

    On the case and will find out.

    David.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    I should add that with this update you should be getting Phocus-esque colours and the lens profiles are based on our data as well.

    David

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Use the Camera Standard profile.

    Matrix is based on the old LightRoom colours so avoid that.

    We are currently working on some comprehensive info that describes the extent of lightroom support and any limitations.

    D

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    528
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Fantastic!

    One more thing? Did Adobe also implement the fantastic CA reduction Phocus uses? (I don't even dare to ask about the moire reduction ).

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Thanks David. I suspected that was the case with Matrix since Camera Standard is a pretty obvious name. However, when clicking back and forth I didn't notice a color shift as much as a contrast boost with Matrix. Will have to explore further on some more color critical work.

    Dustbak, I think you can still employ the LR manual fringe reduction, if needed, even if you also use the lens profiles. It seems the LR profiles are doing the same thing that DAC does in Phocus. What else would those profiles be doing? Plus, you can still adjust the level of DAC with the sliders below the canned lens profiles. The Fab noise reduction in LR works as always.

    This is major for me for a number of reasons ... especially for higher volume work, or work where I am using more than one camera with the H4D/60. The level of non-destructive RAW processing tools and ability to directly use PS and/or other 3rd party post programs like Nik Silver Efex without leaving LR ... makes post-processing work-flow lightening quick. Most of the time, everything can be done in LR.

    BTW, I was pretty pleased to see how fast LR loaded the big H4D/60 files.

    We'll see ... have to use it more.

    Wonder if it supports tethered shooting? Not that I'd necessarily do that very much. But for a quick portrait job or something, I could see just using LR and outputting directly to print and a Smug-Mug gallery.

    -Marc

  9. #9
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,867
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    The latest update for Adobe Lightroom and Camera RAW now supports the Hasselblad H4D/60 ... and HC/HCD lens correction profiles are now included ... I think all of them are there.

    I also noted that the camera profile includes "Camera Standard" and "Matrix" ... I don't know what matrix is ... anyone know? It does have an effect on the image ... but I haven't figured it out yet.

    When I get a chance, I will be testing Phocus against Lightroom.

    - Marc
    Marc,

    great news!

    Does it also support H3D39 ???

    Would make me use my Hassi much more often!

    Thanks

    Peter

  10. #10
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,867
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Actually should not have asked but looked it up: it supports H3D39, but now including lens corrections for HC and HCD glass.

    Will try soon!

  11. #11
    madmanchan
    Guest

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Hi folks,

    Yes, "Matrix" is the name for the older profiles that shipped in earlier versions of ACR and Lightroom. (They are based on color matrices that were originally embedded in the raw files by the camera, hence the name.) We would ideally get rid of these profiles, but we didn't because of backwards compatibility -- e.g., some Hasselblad users have existing images in Lightroom using the old profiles.

    The "Camera Standard" are the color profiles developed by Hasselblad, and newly available to Lightroom 3.5. They should automatically be selected as the default choice for newly-imported images. There should be one profile available per back type (from 16 MP to 60 MP backs).

    There should also be 1 lens profile for each H lens (I think 14 total). Note that optical corrections are NOT enabled by default in Lightroom (for speed reasons), but you can certainly change this if you want. For example, create a Develop preset that turns on profile-based lens corrections and then apply that preset during import.

    Enjoy,

    Eric Chan
    Camera Raw Engineer

  12. #12
    Senior Member David Schneider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    509
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by P. Chong View Post
    oo...great Marc...looking forward to your comparison between Phocus and Lightroom.
    Me too, especially on portrait images.

  13. #13
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by madmanchan View Post
    Hi folks,

    Yes, "Matrix" is the name for the older profiles that shipped in earlier versions of ACR and Lightroom. (They are based on color matrices that were originally embedded in the raw files by the camera, hence the name.) We would ideally get rid of these profiles, but we didn't because of backwards compatibility -- e.g., some Hasselblad users have existing images in Lightroom using the old profiles.

    The "Camera Standard" are the color profiles developed by Hasselblad, and newly available to Lightroom 3.5. They should automatically be selected as the default choice for newly-imported images. There should be one profile available per back type (from 16 MP to 60 MP backs).

    There should also be 1 lens profile for each H lens (I think 14 total). Note that optical corrections are NOT enabled by default in Lightroom (for speed reasons), but you can certainly change this if you want. For example, create a Develop preset that turns on profile-based lens corrections and then apply that preset during import.

    Enjoy,

    Eric Chan
    Camera Raw Engineer
    THANK YOU ERIC

    - Marc

  14. #14
    Shelby Lewis
    Guest

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    I wonder what the color differences between the canned Camera Standard profiles and something generated by, say, a Colorchecker Passport would be? Even since moving from 35mm to my Aptus, I've still mostly continued using LR unless I just couldn't get the color right (and then I'd use the factory converter) and find it really heartening that support for MF Cams continues to grow from adobe.

    The workflow and noise reduction alone should put LR on anyone's radar that has to deal with any kind of volume (and even some of those that don't)

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelby Lewis View Post
    I wonder what the color differences between the canned Camera Standard profiles and something generated by, say, a Colorchecker Passport would be? Even since moving from 35mm to my Aptus, I've still mostly continued using LR unless I just couldn't get the color right (and then I'd use the factory converter) and find it really heartening that support for MF Cams continues to grow from adobe.

    The workflow and noise reduction alone should put LR on anyone's radar that has to deal with any kind of volume (and even some of those that don't)
    I'm right there with you Shelby. The inclusion of the manufacturer's color profiles and lens corrections for the Leica S2 and now Hasselblad, coupled with Adobe's relentless improvement of Lightroom's processing tools, is swiftly removing the blocks to use and is moving me toward one software program standard.

    Lightroom is like Photoshop ... it is so deep of a program that if you stick with it, master the broad variety of tools and customization, it just gets better and better ... faster and faster. I personally think it is the best creative tool I have on my computer ... and I have all of them.

    -Marc

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Hello Again,

    I attach a document which goes into a little more detail on the Phocus vs Lightroom and a few suggestions on LR settings and workflow.

    David

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Hi David
    Thank you for posting the PDF.
    OT are you going to be at Shoot NYC again this year?
    am

  18. #18
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,867
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    @ David,

    many thanks indeed for posting this!

    I have imported some of my H3D39 shoots in LR right now and I must say that I cannot see any difference WRT IQ. What I can see is, that now FFF files are fully supported, I can use my easy LR workflow and importing and organizing etc.

    What that means is, that I will be reusing my H3D39 much more often again, as using Phocus, while results really excellent, was for me always very complicated to use and just another SW.

    I hope that this step, which is a MAJOR STEP forward by Hasselblad, is just the beginning of much more to see WRT openness - obviously some influence by the new owner / management.

    Please stay that course!

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    215
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    14

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Do they support Hasselblad V lens as well?
    Thanks

  20. #20
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,867
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Quote Originally Posted by MP7 View Post
    Do they support Hasselblad V lens as well?
    Thanks
    From what I read out of the published PDF, it can be done, but only manually.

    "Hasselblad Carl Zeiss V-lenses can just as in Phocus be manually adjusted by choosing Manual instead of Profile. The output quality is the same as in Phocus, with the only difference that you in Lightroom work with sliders, where you in Phocus must choose lens, aperture and distance."

    Not sure if this works in Phocus "automatically" as I do not have any V lenses and so did never try.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Warks, UK
    Posts
    550
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    ¿are there any plans to make full-blown Phocus work as an add-in for Adobe, including smart object?

    What is it for?

    ¿to give phase users the option of using the software with which they are familiar? (until they learn to appreciate Phocus?)

    ¿to let us view/select/rate/rename .fff and .3fr files in Bridge? and open them in Phocus from Bridge?
    Last edited by dick; 4th October 2011 at 01:29.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    I think you can use it for whatever you like Dick.

  23. #23
    rschmid
    Guest

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Maybe a stupid question: Is the CFV-39 back also supported?

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Yep!

  25. #25
    NatCoalson
    Guest

    Re: Adobe Upgrade Supports H4D/60 & HC/HCD lenses

    Eric, I'm having a problem with the H4D camera profiles that I'm hoping you can help me with. Rather than contact you directly, I thought I'd post it here in case anyone else is experiencing the same thing.

    In June 2010 I shot a bunch of images with the H4D-40. I created a custom camera profile for Lightroom using the ColorChecker; I don't recall if I used the Passport software or DNG Profile creator (should this matter?) Everything worked fine - I was able to select a folder of images in Lr and apply the profile with a preset. No problems.

    A few days ago I went back to process more pictures from the shoot, many of which had never had the profile (or preset) applied; they were straight from the camera. So naturally they were using the Lightroom Default settings, including the new camera profiles added in the updates mentioned in this thread.

    When I pull down the camera profile menu, my custom profile does not show up... just Matrix and Camera Default like mentioned above.

    I went back to look at the images I had previously processed, and my camera profile was still working fine on those, and showing up in the menu along with Matrix and Camera Default.

    So I tried using Sync Settings to apply the Camera Calibration settings from the older pictures to the newer ones. Upon doing this, the camera profile gets set to Matrix, and still the custom profile does not show up.

    It appears to me that since the addition of the Adobe profiles for the H4D-40-50-60 that my custom profile is no longer being recognized... EXCEPT on the files to which it had already been applied.

    After trying everything I could think of, there appears to be no way to apply my custom profile to the newly processed photos, yet the photos that were processed prior to the applicable Lightroom update still retain normal function.

    (I haven't tried making a new custom profile because the camera was a loaner.... I want to use the existing profile on the new images.)

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance for your help!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •