Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Phase One 645DF Mirror Lockup Problem

Post Thanks / Like

Phase One 645DF Mirror Lockup Problem

I'm new to both MFD and this forum. I recently took the plunge with a Phase One 645DF bundled with the P65+ and a few lenses. I love the results, but I have a problem with mirror lockup. About one out of ten exposures, the camera locks up and needs some combination of turning off the camera, turning off the back, or even removing batteries to restore things.

The problem happens with all lenses, and both with the remote release or using the self timer and shutter button on the body. I also experienced the issue with the loaner body and back from Phase before my system was received, so it's not unique to my body. Back and body are both brand new and running the latest firmware.

I use the system primarily for scenics and landscape photography, so mirror lockup is an integral part of my workflow. It's more than an annoyance since I've missed some shots while fussing with the camera to get it running again. To be honest, it makes me wonder if I made the right choice with Phase versus Hassy...

I haven't found any mention of the issue either here or on the LL forum.
    Am I the only unlucky one? Are others having the problem? Is there a work-around?

Thanks in advance.

Craig
    www.craigstocksarts.com

Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Phase One 645DF Mirror Lockup Problem

Craig are these older lenses. Some of the older lenses alone need a firmware update.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

www.guymancusophotography.com

Post Thanks / Like

New lenses, including the 55 and 80 LS and the 28 and 35 Phase lenses. Body firmware is 1.2.3, which was current up until a couple of days ago.

Post Thanks / Like

Make sure your P65+ firmware is up to date. I know the IQ180 just had a FW update to fix that problem.