Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

  1. #1
    Member johnnykurtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Hello all,

    I have searched and searched, but have only come up with a smidgen of older info on what flash system would work well with my camera.

    I am going on vacation to Palm Beach for the holidays and do not want to lug my Elinchrom Ranger kits with me, but I would like some supplemental light at times.

    I would appreciate ideas on which direction, new or used, Metz or Quantum for TTL, Canon or Nikon... in manual mode. I do not really use TTL, so it is not high on my list of needs.

    Low price alternatives invited as I will rarely use this setup.

    Thank you for your time, if you can spare it.
    Cheers, Johnny

    Johnny Kurtz Photography | Salt Lake City | My Blog

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard, WA
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Anything goes. I've used my Canon 580s in manual mode, a Metz 60CT4 in auto (and manual).

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    As Mark says if you're using it in manual mode then any hot shoe flash from the modern age will work flawlessly. It's just a hot shoe at that point.

    I'd consider a last-generation Canon or Nikon as the vast majority of improvements since then have been regarding improved eTTL performance.

    Of course if you want to come to Miami for an evening you could pick up some Profoto kits (D1 or Acute B) so that you don't have to fly with them :-).

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________

    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter | RSS Feed
    Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

  4. #4
    Senior Member malmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Doug

    Do you have any experience with the use of a Metz flash and the SCA3952 module to achieve TTL on a Phase One camera?

    Regards.


    mal

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Works nice in A mode. Been using it like that for several years, TTL was designed more for film and not sensors, not as accurate as you would think at least in MF world, Canon, Nikon have been more successful at ettl stuff. I also have a Quadras Ranger for battery solutions and Profoto D1 for studio strobes
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Yes, it's "ok". Not great (e.g. a 5DII and 580EXII). But also very usable.

  7. #7
    Senior Member malmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Hi Doug

    I found this little write up on the Capture Integration site.

    March 18, 2009 | Tech

    I recently tested the Metz 54 MZ-4i flash with a SCA 3952 adapter to see if it was possible to shoot full TTL on the Phase 645 / Mamiya body. I was a bit apprehensive if it would work, but it worked great! I shot with the flash head straight at the subject and bounced off of the white ceiling and both exposures were dead on. I was not able to test it on all of our MF bodies because that would require specific SCA adapter for each brand. Here is a quick list of the specific SCA adapter for the most common MF bodies: Phase One 645/ Mamiya = SCA 3952 / H1,H2&H3=SCA 3902 / 500ELX, 503CX, 553ELX=SCA 390 / Contax=SCA 3802

    Who would you recommend as a Metz supplier in the US who would do international shipping?

    Guy, which Metz unit have you been using?


    Thanks very much for your help.


    Mal

  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Mal,

    You might want to check for availability of the SCA3952 because it seems to have gone out of production. I don't recall seeing an alternative part though from Metz - maybe one of the experts/vendors are aware of what there is now?

    I got mine used from Guy and they do seem to come up on the auction sites. You may also find it as existing stock somewhere if you're quick and you want a new one.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Yea that was a dumb sale on my part too. Graham don't leave your bag open at the workshop. ROTFLMAO
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member malmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Graham

    I was not aware it had gone out of circulation - I may have found a unit which might be new old stock - I will keep my fingers crossed it turns up.

    I am assuming then Graham and Guy that the unit does actually work then?

    Thanks very much for the information.


    Regards.



    Mal

  11. #11
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Sure - it works although its not Nikon CLS by any means but good enough.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    I had no trouble getting the SCA unit new - eg from B3K Digital in Toronto. Some ditributors still have stock for their dealers. The Metz flash was another issue. That discontinued item must be special ordered from Germany, and costs more than the latest top of the line units. Made no sense to me.

    Ordered a YN565EX from China. $165 shipped and seems to work OK in M mode. Mind, I have nothing to compare it with as I use the hot shoe flash so rarely. I did have a problem trying to use the YN for fill, and dangling a Profoto transmitter (for studio lights) from the IQ sync plug. Can anyone tell me if that is supposed to work? Should I have used the synch terminal on the DF?

  13. #13
    Senior Member malmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Flash for Phase One 645AF & P40+?

    Ordered a YN565EX from China. $165 shipped and seems to work OK in M mode. Mind, I have nothing to compare it with as I use the hot shoe flash so rarely. I did have a problem trying to use the YN for fill, and dangling a Profoto transmitter (for studio lights) from the IQ sync plug. Can anyone tell me if that is supposed to work? Should I have used the synch terminal on the DF?

    I have used a Pocket Wizard Plus 2 connected to the PC socket on the DF and it fires the remote flash while I used the 580 on the hot shoe for fill flash - all manual of course.



    Mal

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •