The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Beauty lens for m645

Mike Dote

Hello,
I'm still new to MF digital- I will be buying my first back sometime in the next couple days. I have a question about lenses though- what lens would be good for shooting beauty with?

I'm leaning towards a 120 macro, but I definitely can't afford the digital version after buying a back and a camera- so I'm wondering...

How bad would it be to use a film MF 120? I see one on ebay for like 500 and there's one locally for $600

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I look forward to your replies.

Mike

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
If you are considering the Mamiya 120 macro lens then the good news is that the glass hasn't changed significantly with this design at all until you get to the current recent Phase One f/4 D AF lens. All of these lenses are MF despite the nomenclature with the exception of the latest $4k lens which now is AF.

If you are getting the original M645 lens then it won't have the electronics to handle the aperture and so you'd have to manually stop it down and also do stop down metering. If you're shooting wide open at f/4 then it won't matter anyway.

This is a great thread btw: Mamiya Lens Reviews

Mike Dote

If you are considering the Mamiya 120 macro lens then the good news is that the glass hasn't changed significantly with this design at all until you get to the current recent Phase One f/4 D AF lens. All of these lenses are MF despite the nomenclature with the exception of the latest $4k lens which now is AF.