Site Sponsors

Thread: New to MF

tjtphotography

New to MF

Hi. I am new to MF. I don't own any MF gear. Yet.

My motivation for looking into moving to MF is the extended dynamic range available. So...I have been reading and learning a lot. To cut to the chase, I have been trying to find out what a Phase One P25+ for Mamiya/Phase One 645 might cost and I have not found much information other than they appear to be scarce/in high demand.

Does anyone have suggestions on where I should be looking for price and availability?

Thanks!

Ted

Post Thanks / Like

Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: New to MF

All three dealers are great to deal with and friends of GetDPI. Your in good hands with any one of them and suggest giving them a call Monday and check stock. The P25+ are getting scarce but the back alone would run in the 5800 to 7200 range. I loved mine when I shot it.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

www.guymancusophotography.com

Post Thanks / Like

Ted look at the Mamiya 645DF / Leaf DM28. A lot more for your money.

Workshop Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

The market is complex and there are many reasons for everything. But as an oversimplification...

The P25+ is not a current production back (it's no longer being manufactured). So the supply is limited to what's already out there.

Demand/Production wise:
    Historically (e.g. when the P25+ was being made) the balance of H, V, C, and M mounts were fairly even.
    Recently (since Mamiya and Phase One started working together) the balance has skewed far towards M-mounts

So there is a lot of demand (now) for P25+M units but a small number of P25+M units out there.