Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: New Member Switching to MF (Intro and Samples)

Post Thanks / Like

New Member Switching to MF (Intro and Samples)

Hi everyone!

New member here, friend of Shelby Lewis. I'm a full time portrait photographer based out of Denver, Colorado with an emphasis on high-end styled HS Senior Portraits. Will be adding a MF system to the arsenal within the next month or two and am hoping to utilize GetDPI as a great transition resource. Currently looking at the 645DF/Leaf-II 6/7/8 and 80mm LS to start, and am closely considering the H4D-31/40 as well (very open to opinions on this!). I currently shoot with Canon 1Ds's, 24/35/50/85L glass, and a variety of misc. gear.

Last edited by Mario; 21st January 2012 at 11:30.

Shelby Lewis

Re: New Member Switching to MF (Intro and Samples)

Hey Mario... I wondered how long it would be before I saw you over here!

It's a great place where the folks are especially keen to question the "why" of MF. I look at your images and, like we've talked about on facebook, wonder which direction would allow you the freedom to shoot the way you do and keep the same free quality that your images have.

Currently I think the IQ backs have it over the aptus line in this regard as they allow for better focus checking and generally faster operation... BUT I still wonder if hasselblad might be best for you. The true-focus system might be a fantastic tool for your images and your off-center compositions... and, I'll say it again, that 100/2.2 is to die for. The leaf shutter in the hassy system allows for sync at all shutter speeds up to 1/800th. The DF with the LS lenses is similar (better in some regards).

But, my the price! I know you're in the same budget I was looking at... which will restrict just how much DSLR-like function you are going to get out of your MF camera. Lower price = slower, lol.