Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moving a C1 Session

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Moving a C1 Session

    Well, I posted this in the Digital Image Processing part of the forum and, so far, no response. So I thought I would pose my question here. Hopefully someone will be able to help.

    Does anyone know how to transfer C1 sessions from one computer to another in a manner that saves the work done on computer 1 to computer 2? It seems before I upgraded to 6.3 all I had to do was copy the entire folder, with the images and all subfolders (select, output, trash) and .col50 file over. That seems to have stopped working. Now I get the images when I open up the session from the copied folder, but none of the edits I've done to the images (LCC, Color correction, etc.).

    Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Same versions of C1, though they are different license numbers.

    Thanks for any help,
    Bob

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    You're supposed to just be able to move the session folder (with everything in it), as you describe. Make sure you did not by accident process some of the files in another session, I've been caught by this a couple of times. I just switched to the folder, without switching session.

    Cheers, -Peter

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    I do that between my MacBook Pro and Mac Pro all the time so you just panicked me!

    Just did a test and I'm running 6.3.3 on both my machines and all adjustments render correctly as they should when I drag the whole session folder from one machine to another.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    Just checked it as well, works just fine between two MBPs (10.6.8 and a 10.7.2) all the edits are preserved after the move (with C1 6.3.3). Check to see if you did not process as I indicated above.

    Cheers, -Peter

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    Thanks Peter and Gareth.
    I'll try again this evening, but I'm dragging the whole folder that contains all the images, C1 sub folders, and .col50 file.
    How do you tell if you're in a different session?
    Thanks again,
    Bob

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    The session name is shown as the header for the window (top center).

    Cheers, -Peter

  7. #7
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    move or copy the whole folder.
    then, on the destination machine, locate that folder and within it you will find the .col50 file.
    Double click that one and C1 will open the session.
    -bob

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Moving a C1 Session

    Curiously, I seem to have the same problem here. I am shooting tethered with C1 6.3.2 on a Macbook Pro running Lion 10.7.2. When I move the sessions folder to my Desktop Mac (also running 10.7.2), all the edits I made on the Macbook (color tags, grey balances) are gone. Maybe a permissions problem?

    best,

    geb

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •