Site Sponsors

Thread: Newbie ready to jump in

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie ready to jump in

Hi guys
    Newbie here looking to move into MF. Mainly for the dynamic range and tones you get with it.

Currently use a Nikon D200. Landscapes are my prefered enjoyment, although i sometimes dabble with other types.

So in my quest to join the empty wallet brigade, i picked up a Mamiya 645 AFDii body on ebay for 49

It was sold as needing a new shutter. When it arrived, the shutter curtain is closed - without a back on. Also there was a piece that attaches to the underside of the mirror that had come off.

I have refitted that and the tiny spring that was on it.

So the question is, can the shutter curtain be fixed/ reset? or will it have to be replaced?
    I don't mind having a fiddle with the camera.

Or have i invested in a nice Mamiya paper weight?

carl

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Newbie ready to jump in

If you know for sure it needs a new shutter, you can pick them up on ebay. Not cheap, and you'd have to be alright at soldering. But I'm sure it could be done.

You could also just send it in for service. However, you might have been able to get a working AFD II for less than that.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by homeiss View Post
    If you know for sure it needs a new shutter, you can pick them up on ebay. Not cheap, and you'd have to be alright at soldering. But I'm sure it could be done.

You could also just send it in for service. However, you might have been able to get a working AFD II for less than that.
    Hi

Thank you for your reply

I'm not sure if it needs replacing or not? I have already got that shutter in my watched list. My soldering is ok, but before i go down the route of swapping it myself. I would want a service/ repair manual if one exists? I have spent days going through google etc for one, but nothing pops up.

As to getting a working one cheaper than 49? roughly 40 US dollars? If you find one i will buy it