The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Newbie ready to jump in

carl-b

Hi guys
Newbie here looking to move into MF. Mainly for the dynamic range and tones you get with it.

Currently use a Nikon D200. Landscapes are my prefered enjoyment, although i sometimes dabble with other types.

So in my quest to join the empty wallet brigade, i picked up a Mamiya 645 AFDii body on ebay for £49 :D

It was sold as needing a new shutter. When it arrived, the shutter curtain is closed - without a back on. Also there was a piece that attaches to the underside of the mirror that had come off.

I have refitted that and the tiny spring that was on it.

So the question is, can the shutter curtain be fixed/ reset? or will it have to be replaced?
I don't mind having a fiddle with the camera.

Or have i invested in a nice Mamiya paper weight? :ROTFL:

carl

homeiss

If you know for sure it needs a new shutter, you can pick them up on ebay. Not cheap, and you'd have to be alright at soldering. But I'm sure it could be done.

You could also just send it in for service. However, you might have been able to get a working AFD II for less than that.

carl-b

If you know for sure it needs a new shutter, you can pick them up on ebay. Not cheap, and you'd have to be alright at soldering. But I'm sure it could be done.

You could also just send it in for service. However, you might have been able to get a working AFD II for less than that.
Hi

Thank you for your reply :)