Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: DF body loses settings ...

  1. #1
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    DF body loses settings ...

    So my DF body seems to have developed a problem. It will just randomly lose all my custom settings, C1 to C3 and A-C. This can happen while I'm just sitting waiting for the light, or while I hike a short distance to set up for another composition. Also the self timer seems to have a mind of it's own, I'll turn it on, and about 15 seconds later it will be off. Then later in the day I'll turn it off because I have the cable release shortly it will turn itself on.

    I've been shooting with this body since the 2009 PODAS workshop and never seen anything like this before.

    Is there a small backup battery in these bodies? Can't find any hint of it in the manual. Any other thoughts would be appreciated.
    wayne
    My gallery

  2. #2
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Wayne,

    My DF body started doing that recently also. I haven't had the timer go nuts but I have had the custom functions go back to defaults randomly. I always set up the camera with AF-ON on the rear and disable the shutter focus half-press and this would unpredictably go back to default settings when I least expected.

    I did wonder if it was the IQ back that was causing the issue now that it reprograms the custom functions. When I change the backs between my IQ160 and P25+ I seem to have the problem. I haven't had it happen this week with just the P25+ on the body though.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    Wayne,

    My DF body started doing that recently also. I haven't had the timer go nuts but I have had the custom functions go back to defaults randomly. I always set up the camera with AF-ON on the rear and disable the shutter focus half-press and this would unpredictably go back to default settings when I least expected.

    I did wonder if it was the IQ back that was causing the issue now that it reprograms the custom functions. When I change the backs between my IQ160 and P25+ I seem to have the problem. I haven't had it happen this week with just the P25+ on the body though.
    My DF also loses custom settings. It did so randomly with my P40 and still does with my IQ.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    I have the same problem. After changing batteries in the DF, the problem has stopped for now. I use the expensive Li batteries and they were still showing full charge on the camera when I changed them. Don't know if that was the cause, time will tell.

  6. #6
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Well this is interesting and I'll have to test out my DF again for this with various back combinations. It's a bit frustrating because I actually cancelled a sale of my 2nd DF at the last moment a few weeks back when this happened the day before I was due to pack it all up.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  7. #7
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    I was using these batteries in my DF.

    Ansmann 2850 AA NIMH Rechargebale Battery 4 Pack

    Graham I think I left a set in my DF for you. Or they could be the Imedion ones. Both work good . I use these in my flashes as well. I did not notice my custom functions change. I could be wrong though
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    I'm a little wary right now, as I *think* my CF settings may have changed back to default at least one time. I'm watching my DF closely now, but it seems to be holding the setting for CF19, AF set to accuracy, as opposed to defaulting back to speed.

    I'm using Energizer Lithium AA batteries. The DF battery meter doesn't seem very accurate to me, which doesn't help the situation if it is a power issue (low battery signal notice a little too late). It seems to me that the CF setting issue is either a battery/power or a firmware glitch somewhere. Maybe it's an excuse to buy that new Li ion battery insert...

    An interim fix that might help is to save your personal CF settings on the back as user A, B, or C (not C1, C2, or C3). If the DF fails to hold the CF settings and reverts back to defaults, you *should* be able to quickly reset your preferences via the MFDBs saved settings. Still an annoyance until this issue is addressed/resolved.

    FYI, my DF firmware is 1.21. My IQ180 is firmware 2.01

    ken

  9. #9
    Gerhard
    Guest

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Same problem here in Old Europe. I reported it to P1 Germany two weeks ago. They gave me the advice to make shure not to turn on the 645DF while booting the IQ180. Seems to work so far.

    However: If the back freezes and I have to remove the batteries all the custom settings are resetted.

    Very annoying: For the use of the "AF-ON" button you have to change three custom settings. And the default-setting for AF is "Speed" and not "Accuracy".

    P1 is working at a FW update: It's not a feature - it's a bug ;-)

    Best,
    Gerhard

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    819
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Guy - I use those same batteries and they have a high shoulder on the positive end, they fit fine except for one slot where Mamiya has an edge on the battery holder along the base. Getting the Ansmann battery in and out of the slot is very difficult. I have the same issue with the V-Grip. The Eneloops slide in and out fine.

    BTW - B&H has the batteries for less and with free shipping ($15 for a 4-pack). Other than the fit issue, the batteries work fine. I have not experienced CF losses with my DF, running firmware 1.25 and a P65+.

  11. #11
    Gerhard
    Guest

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Quote Originally Posted by John Black View Post
    .... I have not experienced CF losses with my DF, running firmware 1.25 and a P65+.
    According to P1 the problem is IQ-specific.

    Gerhard

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
    According to P1 the problem is IQ-specific.

    Gerhard

    Okay everyone turn there IQ in back to me, Ill take good care of them.

    BTW does anyone know where i put my one way ticket to Brazil. LOL

    Lets hope it is a fixable bug and quickly please
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Very odd for me, because it is a very recent development, as in day 2 of my trip to arches/monument valley. first evening, morning, and second evening was fine. Next morning and everything went nuts.

    I didn't think it was the Energizer Li-ion's because the camera still shows full charge, but I'll definitely try that. I've never had trouble ... pulling the battery because of lock up, turning camera on first on back on first.

    But I did just start trying to use the back to set the functions instead of the body. I'll try the suggestions here and see if I can come up with anything "non random" and useful.
    wayne
    My gallery

  14. #14
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DF body loses settings ...

    Okay, I'm positive now. My DF lost it's CF19 setting this morning. Last night I was photographing in studio, finished and removed the IQ180 battery to recharge. I usually keep a battery in the back while stored; this time I did not. I left the battery in the charger overnight.

    I reinserted the battery into the back this morning; waited and then turned on the DF. Checked CF settings and they had returned to default. Reset CF settings (AF set to accurate) and they again seem to be holding....

    A minor annoyance, but I hope a firmware addresses the issue. This isn't something I want to deal with prior to every session. If it is an IQ issue, the firmware is easy to update; if it is a DF body firmware issue, I ain't gonna be so happy....

    ken

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •