Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Thread: IQ Firmware 3.0

  1. #1
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    IQ Firmware 3.0

    New firmware for the IQ has been released. In the last 24 hours we've been able to test this firmware on five IQ180M backs.

    There may be an issue with using this new firmware on some V mount backs. If you own a V back I would hold off for a few days while we check into that (it may be nothing).

    From the Release Notes
    Firmware version 3.0 offers several significant speed improvements to all IQ series back, plus many features and improvements from previous version 2.0 or 2.01.

    Improved performance:
    - Significant Improved speed when showing previews, especially when zoomed.
    - Improved CF-card writing speed – with a fast CF card it is now practically impossible to shoot faster than the images can be written to card.
    - Improved tethered capture speed – images are now transferred faster than ever before

    New features:
    - Browsing, zooming and panning is now possible in the last 10 images when shooting tethered to the computer
    - Custom White Balance 1,2,3 in digital back can now be set in tethered mode
    - Zooming and panning in not yet stored images are now possible on the digital back
    - Custom background can be uploaded as an image (backgrnd.bmp or backgrnd.tif) on the CF card
    - User can now adjust the offset for roll and pitch.

    Reliability:
    - Camera interface is in general more robust for third party cameras.
    - Improved two-shot noise rejection on trigger pulse, when using third party equipment
    - Battery lifetime in cold weather is improved significantly
    - General stability improvements

    Known limitations:
    Lexar 400x 256GB CF card is not supported

    Download: Phaseone.com
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    We will be posting more notes from our testing soon. The ability to pan/zoom the last 10 captures when shooting tethered is really really great.

    In general I'm very excited; though I'm always slightly trepidatious about things that end in ".0" until it's been out in the field for a while. I never suggest you update anything in the middle of a job, or right before an important job, unless you have time to extensively test everything after the update (that goes for any manufacturer and most kinds of updates).
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  3. #3
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpeterson View Post
    We will be posting more notes from our testing soon. The ability to pan/zoom the last 10 captures when shooting tethered is really really great.

    In general I'm very excited; though I'm always slightly trepidatious about things that end in ".0" until it's been out in the field for a while. I never suggest you update anything in the middle of a job, or right before an important job, unless you have time to extensively test everything after the update (that goes for any manufacturer and most kinds of updates).
    actually, it seems it is 3.0.19 (the 19th try)
    -bob

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Dare I ask.... USB3?

  5. #5
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Whats a subversion or two between friends?
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  6. #6
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Sorry, didn't mean to bury that Tim: No USB3. Good news is they are working on it (i.e. not an abandoned project) and highly confident it will in fact come through and will be great. Bad news is I wouldn't expect it before early summer. Don't kill the messenger :-(.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Be careful. I followed instructions precisely and loaded V3 for my IQ180. The camera is now dead. Screen backlight goes on but no access to any functions so I can't reload. Even the super secret cold boot doesn't seem to work. We are exploring with Phase as I write this.

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by cunim View Post
    Be careful. I followed instructions precisely and loaded V3 for my IQ180. The camera is now dead. Screen backlight goes on but no access to any functions so I can't reload. Even the super secret cold boot doesn't seem to work. We are exploring with Phase as I write this.
    Damnit. I hate to hear this stuff. Hope you get it back up.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Hope you get it back up.
    I ain't touching that one. (I'm really trying to be good )

    Cunim---have you tried accessing your back by tethering? I think you've scared me and probably about every other IQ owner concerned with updating firmware and potential equipment/performance issues.

    I was able to download the firmware update from the Phase site, but interestingly, the pdf on the firmware update is buggy and locked up my browser. I couldn't print it out... Sitting tight for a bit.

    ken

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    I'm not only sitting tight I'm grunting sitting down. LOL
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by cunim View Post
    Be careful. I followed instructions precisely and loaded V3 for my IQ180. The camera is now dead. Screen backlight goes on but no access to any functions so I can't reload. Even the super secret cold boot doesn't seem to work. We are exploring with Phase as I write this.
    What mount do you have? M, V, C, or H?
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  12. #12
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Mine installed fine and first time on IQ180. Got my 645DF FW updated at dealer yesterday so I am up to date for the first time EVER!

  13. #13
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    glad doug is now in NYC so i can hound him locally if need be, he,he

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    I ain't touching that one. (I'm really trying to be good )

    Cunim---have you tried accessing your back by tethering? I think you've scared me and probably about every other IQ owner concerned with updating firmware and potential equipment/performance issues.

    I was able to download the firmware update from the Phase site, but interestingly, the pdf on the firmware update is buggy and locked up my browser. I couldn't print it out... Sitting tight for a bit.

    ken
    Ken, tethering makes no difference. Although Phase may of the opinion that the back is pining for the fjords, I hold that it is no more, has ceased to be, and bereft of life it rests in peace.

    Doug, it's an M.

    Peter

  15. #15
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    My IQ180 updated without any issues from 2.0.1 to 3.0.19
    -bob

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Just heard from my dealer. This is a known failure mode and requires the back be RMA'd. Fortunately, I have the extended warranty with a loaner being shipped.

    Second time this back is going in. Updating it recalls the tale of Mr. Fox.

    Be bold, be bold, but not too bold,
    Lest that your heart's blood should run cold.


    Didn't turn out well for the fox.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    No problems so far on an IQ140.

    Cheers, -Peter

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Didn't resist to try it on, no problem so far on IQ180.
    Zoom on preview is really faster and switch between 2 preview at 100% is immediate. Really great to check sharpness f.i.

    A pity for USB 3.0. Phase should communicate on that to reduce frustration.
    Thanks Doug for the few infos ;-)

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    By the way, and referring to the other post, custom settings lost after update.

  20. #20
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Okay updated and working pretty damn nice too. Zoom is so much faster and also when zoomed at 100 percent taking the second shot to that spot is so much faster. Nice
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  21. #21
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by anGy View Post
    By the way, and referring to the other post, custom settings lost after update.
    Yes it seems there is something wrong with the communication of the custom settings between the body and back. Personally I'm guessing it may require a body firmware to resolve this, seems this problem really never showed up until the put the DF controls into the back, which would imply the body need some update to work correctly.

    It's getting to be a pain ... anyone at Phase listening? It really needs fixed. Happened once right at the prime shooting time at sunrise, suddenly my main release was triggering autofocus (after recomposing), my only option was to go to manual focus until I could fix it later.
    wayne
    My gallery

  22. #22
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    That's how my DF bites me randomly. At least the Alpa is ALWAYS dumb and so no surprises!
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  23. #23
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    I agree, I so hope that Phase's next product is a body, not a back...

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    876
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    I hope it is a back with a 60Mp CMOS and other things However, I think it will be a camera only.

  25. #25
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Houston TX USA
    Posts
    273
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by cunim View Post
    Ken, tethering makes no difference. Although Phase may of the opinion that the back is pining for the fjords, I hold that it is no more, has ceased to be, and bereft of life it rests in peace.

    Doug, it's an M.


    Peter
    Wouldn't that be in NB for Norwegian Blue?

  26. #26
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher View Post
    I hope it is a back with a 60Mp CMOS and other things However, I think it will be a camera only.
    well, if it happens to be a cmos sensor with terrific LiveView, some of us might be more interested in tech cameras and not mind waiting for the body.

    But the body is long overdue ...
    wayne
    My gallery

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    819
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: IQ Firmware 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Fox View Post
    well, if it happens to be a cmos sensor with terrific LiveView, some of us might be more interested in tech cameras and not mind waiting for the body.

    But the body is long overdue ...
    A super-sized mirror-less

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •