Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

  1. #1
    andershald
    Guest

    Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Hi.

    Today is the day Phase One said they are going to release Capture One 4 Pro. Just checked the Phase One website (it is now 5 minutes shy of noon in Copenhagen) and there is nothing on the website.

    Does anybody know if we can expect it today?

    I am (of course) after a pc version, so either way I may have to wait until spring...

    Best reagrads,
    Anders

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Be out today.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Hi Guy.

    Oh, good. Where can I get my free upgrade? Do you know if the windows version is available now as well?

    Anders

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    I heard they both are ready. I would keep checking on the Phase site but as soon as i see it I will post a link or any one sees it please post a link. Also i sent Doug a note last night and he recommended deleting the current C1 4.0. From Doug at CI

    Shoot. Really need to make a blog entry for this.

    Delete 4. Delete preferences/cache/application support. Per uninstall instructions:
    http://phaseone.com/HOME/Content/Sup...4&LanguageID=1

    Doug

    Also. It is 10.5 only. No Tiger support.

    More when im not dead.

    Doug
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Member Clawery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    125
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    We will be posting some of our findings with the new C1 4.5 soon. As Guy mentioned it is for Mac OS X 10.5.5 or later and Windows XP (SP3) or Vista (SP1). I have been told that it will tether with Canon 1Ds Mark IIIs, but need to confirm that myself.

    Chris Lawery
    Sales Manager
    [email protected]
    Capture Integration, Phase One Dealer of the Year

    877-217-9870 | National
    404-234-5195 | Cell
    Sign up for our Newsletter | Read Our Latest Newsletter

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Thanks Chris. If you have a link also to download that will be great. I just cleaned both computers off
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    We had Canon running tethered last night during our event and while it worked, it was not the fastest. More details to come.

    The image quality of the P65+ was amazing as was the shooting speed.

    I am sure Doug is editing the images while he is his the flight up to Atlanta to post. We had a late night here and are still cleaning up.

    Maybe David K can give some of his impressions while he was here.

    lance
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  8. #8
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Quick sample from a still life set that we had. We were using a Sinar p2 w/ 80mm digitar and the P65+.
    Here is a 100% crop from an area and the overview shot . The dimensions of the shot when processed out were 22.44" x 29.64". 182.5MB 8 bit Tiff/ 60MB IIQL RAW file.
    Wow!
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  9. #9
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Quote Originally Posted by lance_schad View Post
    Maybe David K can give some of his impressions while he was here.
    lance
    Kind of a cross post but I'm happy to share my impressions (can't share images because they're all on Doug's computer). The resolution of the new P65+ is amazing and there's certainly no shortage of sharpness with the 120 macro and 150mm lenses that I saw used. You can see peach fuzz on the peach fuzz of a model's face with this kit. When shooting tethered the software gives you the option of choosing a style (I think that's what it's called), e.g. black and white, higher/lower contrast, higher/lower saturation, etc. so that the image you see on the monitor can be fine tuned after the first shot and before the shoot begins in earnest. Kind of like a pre-post processing thing (talk about an oxymoron). From what I saw the software doesn't seem to be quite ready to handle the P65+ files, (bogs down a bit), but part of that could be the laptop we're shooting on. Keep in mind these files are very large. I'd probably get myself one of the new 4GB RAM Mac Book Pro laptops if I were going to shoot tethered with this back. I couldn't stay for the software demo (I was parked on the street and you get towed there at 6:00pm) but did confirm with Doug that it's still a session based program which has it's good and bad aspects. I'll let him explain that in more detail. As an aside, it was great to see Steve Hendrix looking spiffy in his black Phase One shirt BTW, Lance's sample posted above doesn't come close to doing justice to the files.... they are much better than they appear above.

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?


  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Downloading now on Mac. Remember clean your system off old C1 4 first
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Hey Guy, look at the timing, exactly the same :-)

    Anders

  14. #14
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Seems to be working fine on my machine... all I need to do now is re-learn how to use it. It's been quite some time for me.

  15. #15
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Damn this is sweet . Playing still
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  16. #16
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Lance:

    How do you use a LCC correction for a nonPhase file? That option is grayed out for my DMR files.

    Robert

  17. #17
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    How do I know if it is the PRO version, it doesn't say anywhere.

    Anders

  18. #18
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter, Fla.
    Posts
    1,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    The software you want is Capture One version 4.5

  19. #19
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    4th tab over 3 circles if it has a color editor in there you have Pro
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  20. #20
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Ok, thanks, that's the one!
    Thanks again guys.

    It is running very smooth and fast on my PC, not a hitch so far.

    I am very happy, good thing I managed to take my Contax/P30+ out for a spin this sunday.

    Anders

  21. #21
    Workshop Member lance_schad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Phila./NY
    Posts
    1,146
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Quote Originally Posted by robsteve View Post
    Lance:

    How do you use a LCC correction for a nonPhase file? That option is grayed out for my DMR files.

    Robert
    LCC is only support for Phase One RAW files from their digital backs. I do not believe you were able to use it in 3.7x Pro either.
    L
    LANCE SCHAD - Digital Transitions - Phase One,Mamiya | Leaf,Arca-Swiss,Cambo, Profoto
    direct/cell:610-496-5586 office:877-367-8537x224
    http://www.digitaltransitions.com email:[email protected]

  22. #22
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Quote Originally Posted by andershald View Post
    Ok, thanks, that's the one!
    Thanks again guys.

    It is running very smooth and fast on my PC, not a hitch so far.

    I am very happy, good thing I managed to take my Contax/P30+ out for a spin this sunday.

    Anders
    It is running faster on my Mac also maybe 2 seconds off the normal 9 seconds. I have big files so this is a plus. I am getting a 128 meg file in 7 seconds
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  23. #23
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    My lens correction tools disappeared...did I break it?
    No matter what I do, the lens correction tab is blank.

    HELP!

    Anders

  24. #24
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Quote Originally Posted by andershald View Post
    My lens correction tools disappeared...did I break it?
    No matter what I do, the lens correction tab is blank.

    HELP!

    Anders
    I had the same problem. Turned out C1 found my LE license code and loaded it. De-activate the current one, then re-activate it using your Pro license.

    Cheers,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  25. #25
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Cool, thanks.
    Anders


    (...I love this forum)

  26. #26
    andershald
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 4 Pro day...or?

    Perfect!

    Anders

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •