The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Is Medium Format Right for Me?

bumgardner

Is medium format right for me?

I am a commercial photographer based out of Nashville, TN. I shoot mostly for advertising agencies. The vast majority of my shoots take place in the studio. I shoot a mix of both product and people. I have recently started taking on larger advertising jobs that may benefit from the improved image quality that comes from a MFDB.

I currently shoot with a Canon 1DMKIII, 1DSMKIII, and a variety of Canon L series prime lenses ranging from 24-200mm.

I feel that after 5 years I am ready to move onto a new camera and have debated the Canon 1DX, Canon 5DMKIII, Nikon D4, and Nikon D800. I think they are all great cameras, but I want something different.

I am seriously considering the move to medium format. I love the image quality of the files. I see smoother transitions between in focus and out of focus areas, also smother tonal graduations, and more micro contrast all of which I like. I also like the narrower dof that MF allows.

I do not have a ton of money to spend. I would like to keep this move under the 10k mark the further under that price the better.

I have been looking at used: DM22, or DM28 with the DF back and the 80 LS lens. I have also been looking at some of the older backs with a AFD II or III body and a P25, or P30. I have also seen a few Pentax AFD bodies in my price range.