The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Focus Stacking and Hasselblad

trinetr

Hi,

I am a newbie, considering upgrade to MFDB. One thing I really know is that I would be doing quite a bit of focus stacking work. With the D3S it is ofcourse a charm (live view, multiple AF points, least to say - a tripod is sufficient!).

With the Hassey, as I see it, it will not be that easy - since there is only one AF point and no live view. Either I recompose to precision (so that I do not lose pixels in the focus stacking software) or I use a focusing rail. Also, most times, I will not be shooting tethered.

So questions:

1/
Is that the only way to do it ? I know at least one hasselblad master Hans Strand { www.hansstrand.com } who shoots landscapes and does not use a focusing rail always (but uses focus stacking to get more dof). Is there something I am missing wrt focus stacking technique per se ? Will be glad to hear some points!

2/
Would investing in the IQ series alleviate these problems ? (i am reading up about other differences between the two systems, have tried my hands on both the systems also - but nothing significant enough to conclude yet - just to say I am not just forum-posting from the word 'go!'; and thought i will take some advice from experts here!)

3/