The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Best format for architecture

J

Justalex

Hi all. Long time viewer first time poster.

I've been shooting interiors with a H3DII 22 for the last 5 years. It has performed well with the right balance of speed and IQ.

I'm now shooting more architecture and looking for something wider than the blad 28mm with movements.

I've tried the Cambo with 28mm super digitar on a P45+. Incredible quality but much slower than the blad or 35mm. LCCs are also a pain as well as the increased noise at the edge of frame

I've also played with the Canon and TSE lens. 17mm TSE is wider than the 28mm super digitar and doesn't require LCCs. Very user friendly but with too much CA and not sharp enough.

MF dslr - user friendly but not wide enough
35mm dslr - very wide and user friendly but not sharp enough
Tech camera - incredible IQ but too slow and surprisingly not as wide as Canons 17mm TSE.

Anyone have a solution?

Is it for business or hobby?

I know personally one of the local photographer Steve Whittake. He is one of the Director of ASMP.

In film days, he was using 4x5, and now he is using Canon 1Ds MK III and 3 TS lenses.

According to him, MFDB gives better IQ, but his clients are not willing to pay extra for better IQ. Usage of his photographs are for magazines, corporate brochures and 24x30 prints.

kit laughlin

Subscriber Member
And the wonderful thing about Canon's TS lenses is the independent axes... I really disliked the Nikon approach to this.