Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

  1. #1
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Highlights include:

    New Image Rotation tools
    Controls for adjusting image orientation has been added to the crop tool and Viewer Toolbar. The crop tool now include buttons for changing rotation in 90° steps and a Straighten slider that allows you to arbitrary correct the image alignment. In the Viewer Toolbar there's now a Straighten tool - with this tool selected you can draw a line in the image along a part that is supposed to be either vertical or horizontal and the straighten value will be set accordingly. Finally it's also possible to freehand rotate the image in the viewer when in crop mode - to do so you need to click and drag outside the crop while holding down the alt button.

    New Overlay tool
    The new overlay tool offers handling of overlays in the Viewer and when in Live Video mode. Supported overlay file formats are TIFF, JPEG or PNG. The overlay tool is located in the viewer toolbar next to the grid button.

    New custom white calibration tool
    This new tool will allow you to correct for color cast effects when using wide angle lenses and/or tilt and shift. Custom white corrections are done by shooting a lens calibration file per lens, and applying it to all subsequent shots. The custom white interface has been added to the lens correction tool.

    Outstanding Image Quality with new improved moiré detection
    New and further enhanced moiré algorithm for more precise moiré detection, fewer artifacts and outstanding image quality.
    New Viewer option
    A new viewer option for displaying only the cropped area of the image is now available.

    Performance improvements
    The speed performance when browsing, zooming and comparing images has been improved in Phocus 1.1.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Always nice to hear about software improvements. Hope to get some user reports here on this.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Just tried it.

    Finally a straightening tool ... which will keep me from having to open in another program to do that. The cropped area only addition was also a much needed improvement.

    The software is faster than the previous version.

    Gotta read up on the other new features ... most importantly the new custom White calibration tool.

    So far ...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul, gotta say that I'm waiting for the Windowz Vista version before I bite.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul

    Thank you for your information .
    I did a download from the german HASSELBLAD webpage and installed the new version .
    Yes , as Marc says , PHOCUS 1.1 is faster .

    HASSELBLAD Germany usually informs their registered customers , when a software update is available . Not so this time .

    Regards Jürgen

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    I was informed. Your's may be an automated mailer problem.
    Anyway, you are lucky by being able to use the software. We, Vista users, are still waiting for the Phocus for Windows. So, enjoyyy..

    Seyhun

    Quote Originally Posted by jotloob View Post
    Paul

    HASSELBLAD Germany usually informs their registered customers , when a software update is available . Not so this time .

    Regards Jürgen
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul, does the new custom white calibration allow use of the H3D-II/31 back with technical camera T/S now?

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    I got this in the mail . Hopefully the links work here

    For a complete list of added features please read the Phocus read-me file, as well the Phocus User Manual - Edition III included with Phocus version 1.1.

    To download Phocus directly from this message click this link: Phocus 1.1 for Mac

    To get an easy overview of the basic features of Phocus please see our recently added video tutorials, available at this link: Watch video tutorials

    Here http://www.hasselblad.com/service--s...downloads.aspx

    and here also http://www.hasselblad.com/products/p...-features.aspx
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Workshop Member Joseph Ramos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    456
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul,
    Do you know when we can expect the higher ISO update?
    Thanks,
    Joseph Ramos

  10. #10
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Ramos View Post
    Paul,
    Do you know when we can expect the higher ISO update?
    Thanks,
    Joseph Ramos
    The update firmware feature is present in Phocus 1.1 and is located in the File menu. I have tested this personally and this function is working. The firmware file will be available on the Hasselblad.com website in a few weeks.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    760
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul ... Great news. The new 1.1 does speed things up...

  12. #12
    Workshop Member Joseph Ramos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    456
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul,
    Thank you for answering. Just to be clear you are talking about being able to make the 31 shoot at ISO 1600 and the 39 to shoot at 800?
    Thanks,
    Joseph Ramos

  13. #13
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Ramos View Post
    Paul,
    Thank you for answering. Just to be clear you are talking about being able to make the 31 shoot at ISO 1600 and the 39 to shoot at 800?
    Thanks,
    Joseph Ramos
    Joseph,

    That is correct, there will be a 1 stop increase in ISO:
    H3DII31 currently ISO 800 will increase to ISO 1600
    H3DII39 currently ISO 400 will increase to ISO 800

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    Joseph,

    That is correct, there will be a 1 stop increase in ISO:
    H3DII31 currently ISO 800 will increase to ISO 1600
    H3DII39 currently ISO 400 will increase to ISO 800

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    Paul, please alert us when the firmware is availble. I have been waiting with baited breath for 1600 for my H3D-II/31 ... not so much for 800 with the 39 ... but for available light with the 100/2.2 using the mirror delay ... I just can't wait. Very excited about this.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,338
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    52

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    I just downloaded it - and I appreciate the increase in speed and the fantastic rotation tool - so intuitive in use.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul,

    A few questions if you may help:

    1. For PC users, is there any information about the availability date of the "Phocus for PC" ?

    2. What are we losing with Flexcolor (PC) regarding the DAC while converting to TIFF/JPG and to DNG?

    3. Are there any plans to include Level 3 correction for Phocus when converting tp DNG, as we may prefer to use Photoshop from thereon? Presently only Level 1 is being done, if I'm not mistaken.

    4. Regarding Phocus (latest MAC edition of course) what sort of DAC is done, if any, for photos taken with Zeiss CF lenses with adapter?

    Best regards

    Seyhun

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    Joseph,

    That is correct, there will be a 1 stop increase in ISO:
    H3DII31 currently ISO 800 will increase to ISO 1600
    H3DII39 currently ISO 400 will increase to ISO 800

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

  17. #17
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Seyhun

    1. For PC users, is there any information about the availability date of the "Phocus for PC" ?
    At this time there is no official release date for Phocus for PC. Our software engineers are working hard to complete Phocus 1.0 and Hasselblad wants to ensure that it provides an excellent first impression to our users.

    2. What are we losing with Flexcolor (PC) regarding the DAC while converting to TIFF/JPG and to DNG?
    Level 1, 2 and 3 are applied to files saved to Tiff and Jpeg, Only Level 1 is applied to 3F/3FR files saved or exported to DNG.

    3. Are there any plans to include Level 3 correction for Phocus when converting tp DNG, as we may prefer to use Photoshop from thereon? Presently only Level 1 is being done, if I'm not mistaken.
    Flexcolor and Phocus both provide a Level 1 Chromatic Aberration correction upon "export to" or "save as" DNG. Level 2 & 3 are not applied.

    4. Regarding Phocus (latest MAC edition of course) what sort of DAC is done, if any, for photos taken with Zeiss CF lenses with adapter?
    There are no DAC corrections for Zeiss lenses used with a CF adapter.
    When an HC/HCD lens is used the focal lenght, f-stop and distance to subject are embedded within the 3F/3FR file and this data is used by Phocus or Flexcolor to apply the 3 Levels of DAC.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Paul,

    Thanks for the information.

    I understand that the only difference between Flexcolor (PC) and Phocus (Mac) "regarding DAC" is that the Flexcolor may not be using the latest algorithms that came with Phocus 1.1, but should still be able to do a good job with Tiff/JPG.

    It may be inconvenient, but I would really appreciate if you or a users may post an enlagged section of the critical parts of a picturre, processed by these 2 alternative softwares. It will be very good to know what I'm missing by not having Phocus. (or what to expect from reprocessing when Phocus for PC will be available).

    Seyhun

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    Seyhun

    Level 1, 2 and 3 are applied to files saved to Tiff and Jpeg, Only Level 1 is applied to 3F/3FR files saved or exported to DNG.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

  19. #19
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by s.agar View Post
    Paul,

    Thanks for the information.

    I understand that the only difference between Flexcolor (PC) and Phocus (Mac) "regarding DAC" is that the Flexcolor may not be using the latest algorithms that came with Phocus 1.1, but should still be able to do a good job with Tiff/JPG.

    It may be inconvenient, but I would really appreciate if you or a users may post an enlagged section of the critical parts of a picturre, processed by these 2 alternative softwares. It will be very good to know what I'm missing by not having Phocus. (or what to expect from reprocessing when Phocus for PC will be available).

    Seyhun
    Hi Seyhun,

    Performance between Flexcolor and Phocus for DAC will be the same. Currently Hasselblad has in excess of 57,000 data look up tables that we utilize for DAC correction.

    If you follow this link within our website it will show what the effects of DAC. I think these are excellent examples.
    Hasselblad Image Quality

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Thanks.

    The moire improvements in Phocus 1.1 were already there then, as per your explanation.

    Seyhun

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    Hi Seyhun,

    Performance between Flexcolor and Phocus for DAC will be the same. Currently Hasselblad has in excess of 57,000 data look up tables that we utilize for DAC correction.

    If you follow this link within our website it will show what the effects of DAC. I think these are excellent examples.
    Hasselblad Image Quality

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

  21. #21
    infantryman
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    ... Only i'm quiet disturbed about my efforts regarding the interpolation through the export tool.

    Every time i edit the options with a new customizing sizes and send the tiff-16 (or any other option included), my file doesn't goes beyond the native resolution of the 16mp of the back.

    All over my interpolations on Flexcolor 4.8.4 results were of my satisfaction, but here NO INTERPOLATION OCURS !?

    I met a couple of fellows working for Hasselblad on a presentation in Mexico City, my questions to them were the same as in here:

    Why Phocus isn't performing the interpolation from a CVF back ?

    They had no answer to my matter, they suggest to sent a mail to [email protected] exposing mi issue.

    I still waiting for a response from them ... meanwhile any one care to to help ?

    Best regards to all and and many thanks.

  22. #22
    tetsrfun
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    Joseph,

    That is correct, there will be a 1 stop increase in ISO:
    H3DII31 currently ISO 800 will increase to ISO 1600
    H3DII39 currently ISO 400 will increase to ISO 800

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    Will there be an ISO increase with the next firmware for the CFV? (or ever?)

    Steve

  23. #23
    infantryman
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Dear PaulHASSELBLAD:

    Dear All:

    As far we learn from ourself intuitions and knowledges, true rises over the top of darkness, needless to ask on this forums, THANK EVERY ONE TO care to help and give an answer ... unfortunely i never got one.

    I'VE GOT THE ANSWER ... if any one interested i will appreciate a post.

    by the way ... [email protected] they NEVER answer as well !!??

    very dissapointed indeed !

    best regards and keep your such an un-remarkable job.

    fernandoetulain.blogspot.com

  24. #24
    Howard Cubell
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by infantryman View Post
    Dear PaulHASSELBLAD:

    Dear All:

    As far we learn from ourself intuitions and knowledges, true rises over the top of darkness, needless to ask on this forums, THANK EVERY ONE TO care to help and give an answer ... unfortunely i never got one.

    I'VE GOT THE ANSWER ... if any one interested i will appreciate a post.

    by the way ... [email protected] they NEVER answer as well !!??

    very dissapointed indeed !


    best regards and keep your such an un-remarkable job.

    fernandoetulain.blogspot.com

    Do you understand how to do it now in Phocus?

  25. #25
    infantryman
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    I arrived to solve the Interpolation issue.
    It's now just matter to do a couple of tests with different Sharpness values and get the rigth file increase.

    best regards.

  26. #26
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by tetsrfun View Post
    Will there be an ISO increase with the next firmware for the CFV? (or ever?)

    Steve
    Steve,

    The ISO increase is specific to the H3DII-50, 39, 31 at this point.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  27. #27
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by infantryman View Post
    ... Only i'm quiet disturbed about my efforts regarding the interpolation through the export tool.

    Every time i edit the options with a new customizing sizes and send the tiff-16 (or any other option included), my file doesn't goes beyond the native resolution of the 16mp of the back.

    All over my interpolations on Flexcolor 4.8.4 results were of my satisfaction, but here NO INTERPOLATION OCURS !?

    I met a couple of fellows working for Hasselblad on a presentation in Mexico City, my questions to them were the same as in here:

    Why Phocus isn't performing the interpolation from a CVF back ?
    I suggest when in Export that you select edit to the right of Output Preset, select your preset and make sure you unlock the padlock on bottom right. Then go to Dimensions and select "percentage of Original" and as an example i entered 200. Click OK and I saved a 16 bit tiff (original dimensions 13.6 x 13.6 inches) to 381mb file at 27.2 x 27.2 inches. You can also select cm or pixels as well.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  28. #28
    infantryman
    Guest

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Thank you very much Paul, that's exactly what i tried a few days ago, having good results.
    However when i try to make a modification on cms or inches on the outout, that doesn't works.

    best regards.

  29. #29
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by infantryman View Post
    Thank you very much Paul, that's exactly what i tried a few days ago, having good results.
    However when i try to make a modification on cms or inches on the outout, that doesn't works.

    best regards.
    I'm glad your having good results.
    Can you provide some additional information.

    1. What percentage have you set for the 16mp files?
    2. In the Export > Output preset are you setting the Dimensions to "percentage of original" or are you setting "restricted Inches or cm", you do not the option have for both, that I can see.
    3. If you are in the later, "restricted Inches or cm" what size are you setting.

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA

  30. #30
    Workshop Member Woody Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    66

    Re: Hasselblad Phocus 1.1 Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Claesson Hasselblad View Post
    The update firmware feature is present in Phocus 1.1 and is located in the File menu. I have tested this personally and this function is working. The firmware file will be available on the Hasselblad.com website in a few weeks [from October 27, 2008].

    Paul Claesson
    Hasselblad USA
    Does anyone know the status of the firmware update?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •