Site Sponsors

Thread: Filter System

Post Thanks / Like

Filter System

I am thinking about getting a filter system for the S2, in particular gradual ND, ND, and perhaps big stopper (I already have screw in polarizers). I am looking at the Lee system or the Schneider 4x5.6 system. Any recommendations? Thanks.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Georg
    My new website (under construction) at Zenfolio

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Filter System

I have just recently started to use grads so I'm not very experienced with it. However as usual I have researched the market quite thoroughly and the conclusion is that if you want the best it is Schneider 4x5.65" filters.

One problem is that nearly all grads are uncoated resin filters. Schneider 4x5.65" is coated glass filters, and there are no other that are among those easy to get. I have resin filters myself, surely cheaper and lighter and you can get smaller sizes (portability was a key feature for me), but filter reflections (due to no coating) is a real problem in some situations.

Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by GMB View Post
    I am thinking about getting a filter system for the S2, in particular gradual ND, ND, and perhaps big stopper (I already have screw in polarizers). I am looking at the Lee system or the Schneider 4x5.6 system. Any recommendations? Thanks.
    Yes - for the LEE system with either LEE resin, Schneider glass and/or Singh Ray filters. A superbly flexible system. I'm totally biased towards this system because I've used it for years and so have all the rings/grad NDs/NDs/Big Stopper/reverse grads etc.

Some folks prefer the flexibility of the Cokin P series which arguably have a better holder system, particularly for things like polarizers. The Singh Ray filters are excellent and if I didn't have my LEE system I could have been tempted to go Cokin P/Singh Ray instead.