The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Getting started with Medium?

K

Kiri

Hi everyone, I have recently become curious about this format due to some great photography I have seen taken with it (Nick Brandt for example), but have no idea what it involves really.
I have been shooting with micro four thirds gear for a few years, but never used medium (or full frame for that matter).

Could any of you give me some advice as to what would be a good and affordable way to start out with medium format?
Or is affordable kind of off the table? lol

thanks!

torger

As far as I know much of Nick Brandts work is shot on 6x7 analog film, scanned and dodged and burned digitally -- post-processing is a key ingredient in his look not only the format. Anyway an analog medium format system is very affordable second hand, for example a Mamiya RZ67 system.

Medium format digital is a whole different story, it never is really cheap. A $10K budget and buying everything second hand can give you something decent though. I'm more into tech cameras so I don't have that good knowledge about MFD SLR prices but it seems to me that second hand Hasselblad systems often are a bit cheaper. Look around in the buy&sell forums to see what things cost.