The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Is CFV-50 good for a noob?

S

skinnfell

Dear forum

This is my first post so let me introduce myself: I work full-time as a photojournalist, but I also do some fine art/architecture projects in my spare time. For work I have a complete set of canons l-lenses, and for my private projects i am using a Leica M9 with various lenses.

The reason I am posting here is that the M9, while delivering incredible image quality, just doesnt have the resolution to make the larger prints I desire for my personal projects. And since leica has started charging 8000 dollars for a normal lens, and including video and other features I do not need in their bodies, I am seriously thinking about jumping ship.

I am not a fan of up-ressing too much and hence I am in need for a system that can deliver 40-50mp at least. Since I pay for my own equipment and since the fine art bit is not bringing any money for the moment, options are somewhat limited.

I have never used a digital back before but I have used medium format (most brands and formats) before. I no longer shoot film (I live in the boondocks), even if I realize that a large format camera would be a shortcut to high resolution.

However, I think I might be able to scrape together enough funds to to afford a Hasselblad CFV-50 plus a body and a couple of lenses.

So, dear forum, If you could contribute some insight about wether the CFV-50 would be a good solution for me.

Here is what I view as advantages:
- Small and light
- Good sensor (essentially the big brother of that in my leica)
- Uses good and cheap sony batteries