The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A/S M2, Rodenstock Sironar Digital + AFi-II 10 = Holy #@?!

BradleyGibson

What I'm seeing from my new Arca-Swiss M-Line Two and Rodenstock Sironar Digital lenses on my AFi-II 10 digital back is nothing short of astonishing.

I am new to the world of view cameras, and am spending the first several weeks getting control of my tilts and swings. Jack, thank you for your practical post on using tilt and swing. It was a little counterintuitive at first, but there's no arguing with those results!

I've also read a copy of Harold Merklinger's Focusing the View Camera to help me understand the key concepts of how changing tilt, swing and focus move the plane of focus in space.

I am currently on extended travel, and am getting a chance to put all this knowledge into practice almost every day. :)

So first of all, a thank you to you, Jack, and everyone here at GetDPI for getting me turned on (figuratively and literally) to technical/view cameras.

I began the quest to achieve this level of image quality in 2005. After having owned just about every major brand of camera and lens in medium format was still finding myself disappointed with image quality; I was about to throw in the towel, but my stubbornness came through for me this time, as I decided to give my digital back a try on an Arca-Swiss M-Line Two.

I chose the A/S M2 over a technical camera because I wanted larger movements, and to retain compatibility with 4x5 film. (I recently saw a large print by Jock Sturges, and it was stunning. The print was from scanned 4x5 film).