Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Arca quick release

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Arca quick release

    So I've finally decided to get myself an Arca head. Looking like it will be a Cube but the D4 is very much in the running.

    Regardless of which I choose the QR has me wondering. I'm all for the monoball (slide) fix but have never seen a Cube with anything but a fliplock. Why is that?

    Don't like the look if the fliplock as it seems overly complicated, especially next to the rather simple and elegant mechanism of the monoball fix but there may be a good reason why everyone chooses it over the other options. Use will be Rm3di and 1Ds3 on an Arca L bracket.

    Anyone care to share any words of wisdom?

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    Hi i have the cube with the fliplock, ( I could choose what i wanted, fliplock or other whatever, arca lets you choose) ..

    Why
    - I think it's the point of buying everything full option
    - And i personally thought it was safer, that your camera can't just slide of willy nilly just by the smalest brush.

    I am realy happy with the Fliplock and with the cube for that fact..
    It's quick, it's versatile ( as you can click in all the arca formats) and safe..

    greets
    ju


    Quote Originally Posted by gazwas View Post
    So I've finally decided to get myself an Arca head. Looking like it will be a Cube but the D4 is very much in the running.

    Regardless of which I choose the QR has me wondering. I'm all for the monoball (slide) fix but have never seen a Cube with anything but a fliplock. Why is that?

    Don't like the look if the fliplock as it seems overly complicated, especially next to the rather simple and elegant mechanism of the monoball fix but there may be a good reason why everyone chooses it over the other options. Use will be Rm3di and 1Ds3 on an Arca L bracket.

    Anyone care to share any words of wisdom?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    I have the cube with fliplock. I keep it because I tested it and it works well with all of my plates (markins and arca swiss). I'm not touching the tension unless it needs to be adjusted. Everything works so well right now that I'm not messing around with it. I don't see a benefit in replacing the mount as I don't believe it was originally intended to be changed. It's solid and it works. I've only heard of issues when people start messing around with the tension adjustment.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    Thanks for the replies.

    I suppose the fiddly nature of the Fliplock makes it very safe but I'm still tempted by the Monoball Fix. Video's of its use on the P0 heads I've seen doesn't look as if brushing against it would release the camera as it looks quite difficult to pop the catch.

    The Monoball Fix looks the perfect match for the Rm3di so has anyone got any experience of the Monoball Fix with any other Arca head?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    I never felt comfortable with the fliplock when my Cube arrived. First thing I did was replace it with the Quick Set.

    https://captureintegration.com/store...ck-set-device/

    No rational explanation really, just didn't feel confident in attaching $10's of thousands worth to the fliplock.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Arca quick release

    Gareth, I've been very happy with the Slidefix/MonoballFix system. I have it on my D4 head. It's lower profile and more elegant than the old style Arca plates. The plate is still semi locked in the mount (can slide in, but not out of the mount) even though the release lever is not pressed all the way in. The only slight problem was not having the lip (to prevent twist) on the mount plates, but once screwed in and a bit of loctite - it's ok. I'm using it on my Alpa TC and STC.

    Cheers, -Peter

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    Thanks Peter.

    Martin at Arca has emailed me the Monoball Fix system chart and its vast - amazing!

    With all that choice I'm not sure if I'd ever need or want the bigger plates. I see they do a plate for the 1D with a back lip so I imaging twist would be none existant and the Rm3di would just mount super firm without any plate.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    116
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    I've got fliplock on D4M and had it on a P1 prior to that. I was shooting earlier in the year with a friend who had a P0 (no fliplock, the easier to mount lever with small plates whatever that's called) and he accidentally caught the catch releasing it, so his D800 and 70-200 hit the deck. Camera lens mount needed replacing and other damage. Camera was out of action for 3/4 weeks. He now has a D4M with fliplock!

    The inner release on a fliplock can be a fiddle with cold hands in winter, but once you are used to it, it's ok.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    528
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    I have a cube, first thing I replaced was the fliplock. I put a RRS pro-b2 on top of it and never looked back. Excellent decision, the fliplock still allowed movement, the screw clamp does not (provided you never forget to screw it tight )

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    Quote Originally Posted by baxter View Post
    I was shooting earlier in the year with a friend who had a P0 (no fliplock, the easier to mount lever with small plates whatever that's called) and he accidentally caught the catch releasing it, so his D800 and 70-200 hit the deck. Camera lens mount needed replacing and other damage. Camera was out of action for 3/4 weeks. He now has a D4M with fliplock
    Wow, that sounds like one of those horror stories that a friend of a friend of a friends brother read on the internet but you actually experienced the failings of the Monoball Fix first hand. Mmm, that's got me reconsidering now!

    Quote Originally Posted by Dustbak View Post
    I have a cube, first thing I replaced was the fliplock. I put a RRS pro-b2 on top of it and never looked back. Excellent decision, the fliplock still allowed movement, the screw clamp does not (provided you never forget to screw it tight )
    So the RRS is like the Arca classic QR with the screw? Why do people not get this when they order the cube rather than buying a Fliplock version only to replace immediately with the RSS QR? Is the RSS different than the Arca classic in some way?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    242
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    The RRS Clamp has a larger knob than the Arca Clamp

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, California
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Arca quick release

    Fliplock version works perfectly on my Cube.

  13. #13
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Arca quick release

    Quote Originally Posted by subrata1965 View Post
    Fliplock version works perfectly on my Cube.
    I can only agree . Never had any trouble .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  14. #14
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Arca quick release

    Quote Originally Posted by jotloob View Post
    I can only agree . Never had any trouble .
    Same here - no problem with the arca clamp.

    Phil

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca quick release

    Gareth,

    I went for the D4 with quickset screw from Robert White - no regrets over a lever. I think some have posted in other threads here that removing the top plate on Arca heads is harder than it once was so putting the RRS lever or screw (both lovely, but I'm happy with the quickset screw on the D4) might not be an easy option now.

    Henry

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •