Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: colorcasting with H3dII

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    colorcasting with H3dII

    This photo(100% crop) was shot with H3dII-31 with HC35

    Does anybody know why and how this colorcasting arises? But, more important.. how i can avoid this in the future?

    thanks!


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    253
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    To me it looks like standard moire. Slightly changing the distance might help. Using a different aperture normally does help.

    Have a look at, e.g.,
    Imatest - Color Moire

    Chris

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    Moire not colour cast.

    Only way to avoid on a 39Mpix back is to not focus on that portion of the image causing the issue (often impossible) or try a software fix with moire removal in Phocus.

  4. #4
    Member weinlamm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    You can remove it very simple. Do you use LR or PS? - And I think, the new C1 should habe an option for remove, too.
    __________________
    Christian
    P.S.: If your wife knows everything... it's mostly not good for your gear.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    Most medium format sensor lacks antialias filters to provide more pixel-peep micro contrast at the cost of having false colors and moiré. Fabrics is worst case.

    You can remove it (or rather hide it) with software, but the result will be worse than it had been with a proper antialias filter on the sensor. The other alternative is to shoot less sharp pictures by having a smaller aperture or shoot slightly out of focus.

    Yes, being without antialias filter is bad, but MF sells a lot on resolution and being without it gives a pixelpeep advantage and as we all love to pixelpeep (but rarely admit it) being without AA filter is generally seen as a "feature" rather than the bug it is. Be glad that you don't have a 22 megapixel sensor, it would be even worse on that
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    Sometimes a small change in camera angle (position) will eliminate moire.
    Ciao,
    Giorgio Niro
    www.giorgioniro.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    tanks for the replies!

    This technique worked quite well for me:
    A New Way to Remove Moire on Vimeo

  8. #8
    Member Paul Claesson Hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Union, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: colorcasting with H3dII

    I recommend using the Moire tool in Phocus, available for Mac and PC.

    Go to the Adjust tab > Noise filter > Moire
    A level 2 or 3 should do the trick.
    Paul Claesson
    Technical Support Manager
    Hasselblad Bron Inc.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •