The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

SK 35 odd flare effect

I'm relatively new to MFD, and I'm finding that I'm getting "smeary" flare for light sources near the edges of my SK Digitar XL 35. See, for instance:

This is on a P45, f/8 4s exposure; that's at about 15 degrees horizontal shift with no center filter (since I was planning to stitch, and pulled the CF just in case it was causing additional flare issues).

I'm trying to figure out whether this is expected behaviour for the lens, or if something needs to be cleaned somewhere, or...?

Thanks!

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
I haven't had a flare that severe with the 35XL before. Is this a one off situation with a bright off image light or do you see it regularly?

The obvious suggestion would be that it's typical flare from a point source across the lens. Some folks religiously use a lens or compendium shade to avoid these situations. With the 35XL folks will often add a permanent shade using a range of step up filter rings from the front element, wide enough to avoid vignetting.

Last edited:

Ken_R

That tends to happen in some lenses when there is a point light source just outside the very edge of the image circe of the lens. I do not think it's a problem with the 35mm SK. I usually shade the lens with my hand or my filter wallet.

thrice

I've had a couple of odd ones with the 35XL, this one is the oddest.
I think it is because I had a polariser and an uncoated grad in front of it and the reflection of the aperture off the sensor bounced through the optical system a few times.

8 minute exposure on the P45.