Site Sponsors
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 101 to 128 of 128

Thread: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

  1. #101
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Resistance is futile and deep down everyone who contributes to this section of the forum must know, all tripod heads eventually lead to the Cube.

    Unlike many expensive and "Lustful" purchases that usually get sold again within 12 months, the Cube really is a lifer IMO.

    Have I said I'm loving mine??

  2. #102
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Vincent Goetz View Post
    a few years back I saw Graham shoot with a Cube. I owned one a few weeks later. money well spent.
    A few months back , I saw Grahams cube attached to the tripod by a very solid RRS clamp .
    Today , I have two of these clamps . (for the clamp , see also his picture with the iPHONE above) .
    There must be some mysterious influence .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  3. #103
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    I saw someone else's Cube and looked at it. I then had to buy one.

    Now someone else will see /try your gear and the cycle will continue. It's just the natural order of things that passes down through time and camera gear.

    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #104
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Ahh, yes Graham-san! (said in terrible Chineese accent)

    Its getting all Karate Kid now this discussion.
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #105
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by gazwas View Post
    Ahh, yes Graham-san! (said in terrible Chineese accent)

    Its getting all Karate Kid now this discussion.
    "San" is Japanese..

  6. #106
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    I saw someone else's Cube and looked at it. I then had to buy one.

    Now someone else will see /try your gear and the cycle will continue. It's just the natural order of things that passes down through time and camera gear.

    Take it easy Graham
    It's just a bit CUBE talk (small talk) . There must also be some fun here .

    BTW , if I would not have seen your RRS tripod/CUBE solution , I would not have it . And I am very happy with it . Thanks again for that good advice .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  7. #107
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Jurgen, it's all in good fun and it is the cycle of gear life.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #108
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Graham

    While you are in Australia don't only beware of dangerous spiders and snakes
    but also of kangaroos . They like to steel CUBEs and ALPAs and they like to play with them .
    Have a great time and good light for plenty of good shots .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  9. #109
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    last bit for now:

    after the above machining, i have my pan axis truly plumb when the pan platform is truly level for the full 360 degree rotation.

    the second thing that really matters is (how) to determine the mounted camera is also level when the pan platform is level. I am using the Cambo WRS, which has bubble levels for both ways mounted on the top of the body. here is what i found:

    to determine if the body itself was plumb: done by aiming a self leveling laser at the lens mounted on the Cambo: laser height set so beam hits center of lens; then a clear glass cover plate was fitted over the lens barrel, which reflected the beam back to the source; it was within 1/4" of being on the source over 14', i can live with that. (I am only setting forward/back level)
    however with the pan platform truly level, the cambo mounted using a RRS base plate, the front-to-back reading on the Cambo level was considerably out; the edge of the bubble was all the way at one of the lines. So even if you are not panning, using that to set level will be incorrect. the solution will be to re-fit the cambo level.

    the horizon and the grid function of the IQ can be used to check the left/right level.

    what I am going to achieve is to have both the cube and cambo levels consistent and accurate for level, both ways.

    all this time i have been leveling with the cambo levels and they are off. for example, if using the laser setup, I set the cambo bubble to level, the reflected dot is 2-1/2" high. (or if i set the cube bubble to level, it is 1-1/2" low.)
    over 14', 1" out is about .4 degrees, but since it is reflecting the dot it is half that angle or say 1/4 degree per inch of dot mis-alignment. the cambo level is then out by a bit more than 1/2 degree.
    Last edited by jlm; 9th June 2013 at 10:28.

  10. #110
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Any suggestions on what sort of clamp to mount a Cube at top of tall ladder?

  11. #111
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Super Clamp?

  12. #112
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!


  13. #113
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    weekend project coming up: the cube levels are inaccurate (badly mounted) and insensitive. as far as sensitivity, those vials are about 180 minutes (1/2 degree) for .100 bubble movement, similar to a carpenter's level.

    i just received some much more sensitive spirit vials (150 seconds for .100 bubble movement) and will be fitting them to my cube and cambo. will still have the rough circular level on my RRS clamping base

  14. #114
    Senior Member rayyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    608
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Now my Cube is happy
    Leica | Angenieux | Alpa | Hasselblad | Phase One
    www.raymondchak.com

  15. #115
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by jlm View Post
    weekend project coming up: the cube levels are inaccurate (badly mounted) and insensitive. as far as sensitivity, those vials are about 180 minutes (1/2 degree) for .100 bubble movement, similar to a carpenter's level.

    i just received some much more sensitive spirit vials (150 seconds for .100 bubble movement) and will be fitting them to my cube and cambo. will still have the rough circular level on my RRS clamping base
    Nice project! But over 60 times as sensitive? Isn't that going to be hard to dial in manually? I wonder if there's surveying gear that automatically levels loads as large as the cube.

    --Matt

  16. #116
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    i use a more sensitive level all the time, but you are right, if it is too touchy it won't be right. the test of the prototype will tell the story. if the sensitivity is too fine, the cube knob feel may be too crude, but at first attempt, just dropping the vial on the cube and trying it, it looks pretty promising.

    any self leveling gear i have used stays floating a bit (transit-level, laser levels, etc.) and would not be secure.

  17. #117
    Member AreBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Highlands, Scotland
    Posts
    171
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    jlm,

    Quote Originally Posted by jlm View Post
    i use a more sensitive level all the time, but you are right, if it is too touchy it won't be right. the test of the prototype will tell the story. if the sensitivity is too fine, the cube knob feel may be too crude, but at first attempt, just dropping the vial on the cube and trying it, it looks pretty promising.
    When I purchased a Cube I checked it with a precision spirit level. The result was exactly what Matt notes above: far too precise for the pitch of the head's gearing. Maybe my levels were simply too precise.

    Please let us know how you get on. I, for one, am very interested not only to read about the levelling aspect, but the modification process itself.

  18. #118
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Is anyone using these screws to attach Arca-compatible plates,
    which also allows use with BlackRapid straps?

    BlackRapid FastenR Tripod (FR-T1)

  19. #119
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Is this the Cube beater??

    Just grabbed this snap earlier as it was being used to make a commercial for Alfa romeo outside my home... Arri Alexa I think....

  20. #120
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by RVB View Post
    Is this the Cube beater??

    Just grabbed this snap earlier as it was being used to make a commercial for Alfa romeo outside my home... Arri Alexa I think....
    Isn't that Graham's suv?


  21. #121
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by kdphotography View Post
    Isn't that Graham's suv?

    Can't be. It's too slow.....
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  22. #122
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Exactly! Also looks like a soft-roader too so I wouldn't be caught in one of those!
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  23. #123
    Senior Member Ed Hurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,161
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Hello fellow Cube fans! Quick question... I remember seeing someone on here (Graham, was it you?) indicate a nifty idea that involved putting some RRS parts between the Cube and a tripod, allowing you easily to remove the Cube from the pod. Great for travel when it needs to be removed readily and also great if you want to swap the Cube between different tripods. I guess it also gives more confidence that the Cube is securely attached as it doesn't depend solely on a 'tight twist'. Trouble is, I can't find the explanation of the parts involved.

    Can anyone here remind me? Thanks in advance!

    Ed

  24. #124
    Subscriber Member jotloob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    KEMPTEN / GERMANY
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    116

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Ed

    The idea came from Graham . Thats correct .
    I have picked up that idea and applied the solution on two tripods and on my CUBE and also D4 .
    What you will need is : RRS TH-DVTL-55 and RRS B2 LLR II 80mm clamp .
    There is also a B2 LLR II 60mm clamp , but I prefer the 80mm one .
    The solution is perfect and I don't want to miss it . Thanks to Graham , the RRS specialist .

    Have a look to the RRS site and you will see the items and how they fit together . Good luck .
    Regards . Jürgen .
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  25. #125
    Senior Member Ed Hurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,161
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Ah yes! I see how that would work... Thanks Jürgen (and Graham of course!)

    What I have to decide now is whether it's a good idea for my own situation. I tend to make extensive use of a full multi-row pano rig attached to the Cube, together with a 645D and often quite heavy lenses - quite a lot of weight. I wonder if the extra elements involved in this nice solution (and the inevitable joints) would, when combined with the existing parts, contribute to a slight loss of stability... I already find with the current rig that the whole thing has enough play in it to flex fractionally (only a tiny amount, but I don't want to make it worse). No vibration I think, just very slight bending of parts of joints. Hmmm...

    Ed

  26. #126
    Senior Member alajuela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Shanghai / Miami
    Posts
    552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    124

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed HUrst View Post
    Hello fellow Cube fans! Quick question... I remember seeing someone on here (Graham, was it you?) indicate a nifty idea that involved putting some RRS parts between the Cube and a tripod, allowing you easily to remove the Cube from the pod. Great for travel when it needs to be removed readily and also great if you want to swap the Cube between different tripods. I guess it also gives more confidence that the Cube is securely attached as it doesn't depend solely on a 'tight twist'. Trouble is, I can't find the explanation of the parts involved.

    Can anyone here remind me? Thanks in advance!

    Ed
    Hi Ed

    What you need is a plate that goes on the bottom of you cube which has an Arca type fitting.

    http://reallyrightstuff.com/ProductD...Plate-&key=ait

    Then you need to put a clamp on the base plate of your tripod to accept it
    I use this
    http://reallyrightstuff.com/ProductD...-clamp&key=ait

    Or a Pano head should work - This is the general idea

    PCL-1: Panning Clamp - PCL-1

    I do this and can swap out my cube for a panning head which I like better on the 645, and also a gimbal for the white Canons.

    I also like the idea of the leveling head because then the cube is neutral and can use it to "aim" or fine tune the camera.

    If you have a series 2 or 3 Gitzo RRS makes a leveling head that will fit after you remove the center plate on the tripod.

    http://reallyrightstuff.com/ProductD...h-Hook&key=ait

    You are right also - I always remove and carry my cube when flying

    Hope this helps

    Phil

    PS - If you decide to do this --- get the RRS TH-DVTL-40 - the RRS TH-DVTL-55 is too wide will interfere with the lever that locks the rotation of the base of the cube. I tried them both,

  27. #127
    Senior Member kdphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Carmel/Tucson
    Posts
    2,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    You only need two RRS parts: the DVTL-40 attaches to the bottom of the Cube.

    Then you simply only need the RRS lever clamp (for each set of tripod legs) which attaches directly to the tripod legs.

    No more searching for bits and pieces to cobble your different heads back onto the legs. One lever switch and swap the heads. The platform remains extremely stable with no discernible loss in rigidity. If installed correctly, there are less parts for human error....

  28. #128
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca Swiss Cube........ OMG!!

    I've done the same thing thanks to Graham & Ken both of whom are always willing to help me spend money. I'll admit it has been one of the better ideas! Now I have a quick release at both ends of the Cube which makes for a very happy cube. A happy Cube is a ...
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •