The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Renting Phase One on a (very tight) budget

jars121

G'day everyone,

I'm a university student that's got a 3-4 day shoot lined up for July. I'd really love to try a Phase One back on my Fuji GX680III, but the rental prices I've found are astronomical! I'd be looking for one of the older P series backs, but even these are around the $3-400 mark per day!

Is there a way to try out a MFDB on the (relative) cheap?

I'm in Sydney, Australia (if that helps), which may explain the exorbitant price...

gazwas

Actually sounds cheap for a day rate!

Short of a dealer lending you one to try because you want to buy a back (which you're not) and someone lending you theirs for a week which is highly unlikely and a big ask (they cost the owner a lot to buy), I think you have no choice.

Pass the hire charge onto the customer if they stipulate the large file size of MFD or shoot/hire another format.

jars121

When in July?
Either the 11th-14th or the 12th-15th (depending on the final schedule).

EDIT: Thanks for replying :)

Actually sounds cheap for a day rate!

Short of a dealer lending you one to try because you want to buy a back (which you're not) and someone lending you theirs for a week which is highly unlikely and a big ask (they cost the owner a lot to buy), I think you have no choice.

Pass the hire charge onto the customer if they stipulate the large file size of MFD or shoot/hire another format.