Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    I aslo posted this in the Alternative Forum because I wasn't quite sure.

    I have a Horseman VH (6x9) field camera which I dearly love. I have a Schneider 65 and a Mamiya Sekor 105 (very old) Has anyone ever put a digital back on a VH. Is it possible? Is it realistic. I would shoot mostly architecture and scapes.

    Any thoughts are appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    I am not sure there is an adapter for your camera, but if you can find one, I would certainly try a back on your camera. It is certainly realistic.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    hi-

    I had SK Grimes modify a Horseman VH for a phase one back. It was a bit pricey.

    http://www.skgrimes.com/

    I gave them a mount plate for a flexadapter which then fit the modified Horseman. That way any back could be used if one had the proper flexadapter plate. They were able to leave the rotating back intact but the register for the back was slightly in front of unmodified nominal so I had to recalibrate the infinity stops for each lens. I used non horseman lenses so the RF was slightly off, mostly at close focus. Otherwise it worked pretty well.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    Shashin and jimban thanks for your replies.

    Jimban - I have had work done by SK Grimes over the years and have the pleasure of working with them face-to-face as I live in Rhode Island where they are based.

    I love the size of the VH and all of its adjustments. So my big question is, do you still use the VH? What back did/do you use with it? Was it worth it to modify it or would you have just opt out of it knowing what you know now? And certainly, and shots of it and by it would be most interesting.

    Cheers

    chk

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    Hi-

    I ended up selling the camera in favor of an Arca Swiss Rm3di. I did like the VF and used it with lenses from a 75mm Nikkor SW to a Nikkor 360 T on a tophat lensboard. I probably wouldn't do it again because it took so long to get into the workshop queue.

    Over all I wish I hadn't sold it.

    Here's a shot taken with a 75mm Nikkor SW and P45 back with a 100% crop. The kit without lenses and a P65+ back mounted.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    Jim - thanks for posting that. I am now more tempted to give it a shot (in a manner of speaking) How did you set up the shutter release from the camera to the back??

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    230
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    24

    Re: Horseman VH to Digital Back??

    Hi-

    It depends on the back your using. I used a Kapture group one shot cable with my P45.

    Phase One digital back adapter solutions

    You should talk to your MFDB dealer for a recommendation.

    jim

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •