Site Sponsors

Thread: Capture One vs. Leaf Capture vs. Lightroom

Post Thanks / Like

Capture One vs. Leaf Capture vs. Lightroom

Hey guys, I've been a professional wedding and portrait digital photographer for 13 years but I'm new to the medium format game. I have a DM33 back and I use PCs. I used C1 for several years starting back in 2003, switched to a bible Pro, RAW Shooter Pro, then settled on Lightroom 7 years ago.

So, I have the Aptus II back and I have 3 options to process files with. Leaf Capture only runs on Macs. So for this to be a consideration, I'd need to know what it does, if anything, that Capture One or LR don't do? Does it do something better? Under Phase management is it still going to be developed? Basically, is there any compelling reason to get outfitted to employ Leaf Capture?

I've run files through both C1 and LR. Thus far I'm only seeing issues of a subjective nature. Are there any functionality advantages that C1 has over LR with these files or with things like tethered operation?

Your assistance is very much appreciated as I navigate my way through this jungle.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Capture One vs. Leaf Capture vs. Lightroom

Leaf Capture is no longer developed (I think 11 is the last version). The only advantage over C1 is the price. Leaf Capture is free. I switched from LR to C1 when I got my Leaf Aptus and could not be more satisfied with C1. The biggest advantage - rendering of the skin tones, just perfect. Other advantages: I really like working with sessions, a few neat tricks in tethered mode (overlay, composition mode, ...), fast and easy organisation within a session and best of all you are not tied to a predefined workspace design (like in LR) but can design your workspace in details as deep as it goes. Then there is focus mask, the excellent loupe tool and many many more advanced features (layered local adjustements, color wheel, ...).