The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fundamentals of photography

danlindberg

Thanks again for all tips. Very helpful!

I admit that in the longer perspective I would prefer to work with more advanced photographers where we do not talk about the very basics, but instead concentrate on compositional vision and finding balance in the image. What to include and exclude, using existing light to your advantage and just simply 'see' possibilities.

But! For twenty years I have been working alone and I am self taught so I do not have the natural flow of explaining methods and concepts, I must find that 'groove' somehow. So, starting with beginners I believe is not at all wrong from my position. Teaching is completely different from shooting and the very last thing I want is somebody feeling it was a waste of time and money being with me......

jlm

Workshop Member
in my opinion, a workshop is not the best place to teach fundamentals. certainly a few technical questions can be answered, but if i attended a Dan Lindberg workshop, it would be for a very different reason, and I would be annoyed if i had to listen to fundamental instructions, especially those that can be picked up from many, many books.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor