Site Sponsors

Thread: Medium format cameras and their feel

Post Thanks / Like

Medium format cameras and their feel

I had a contax 645 a rollie 6000 system and a mamiya 645 afd. Quitre frankly I never liked the feel of the mamiya is the 645 md 111 have a better feel. Or is it just a reved up 645. I loved both my contax and rollie systems only went to the contax when I started shooting nature. I am contemplating getting abck into meduim format so whose who have shot with the contax and mamiya what do you think.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Medium format cameras and their feel

Quote Originally Posted by dseelig View Post
    I had a contax 645 a rollie 6000 system and a mamiya 645 afd. Quitre frankly I never liked the feel of the mamiya is the 645 md 111 have a better feel. Or is it just a reved up 645. I loved both my contax and rollie systems only went to the contax when I started shooting nature. I am contemplating getting abck into meduim format so whose who have shot with the contax and mamiya what do you think.
    It's been some while since I worked with a Rollei system, but remember them to be a bit cumbersome and finicky. The Contax is a sturdy workhorse, but the autofocus is a bit slow and they aren't in production anymore. I did recently test a new Phase One 645 AFD (Mamiya AFD III) and the new focus system is incredibly faster than the previous AFD and AFDII. The shutter lag has also been addressed and has gotten much less noticeable.

The best way to truly test the camera is to find your local dealer and get a demo. That way you can test the camera as well as a digital back.

Chris Lawery
    Sales Manager
    [email protected]
    Capture Integration, Phase One Dealer of the Year

877-217-9870 | National Atlanta / Miami
    404-234-5195 | Cell

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like